Skip Navigation

Current News


Congratulating to Stanislaus Wong who has been elected to the rank of NAI Fellow by the National Academy of Inventors. This is excellent news. Congratulations Stan!


Congratulations to Peter Tonge who is one of seven SBU Faculty elected as AAAS Fellow.


We are very pleased to announce that Stanislaus Wong has been promoted to SUNY Distinguished Professor. This is wonderful news and we want to extend our warmest congratulations to Stan.


Drury (BA '05) and am Ende (PhD '13) Honored among 40 Under Forty.


This year's Annual Franklin Award Lecture was also part of the Provost’s Lecture Series - “Reticular Chemistry Leading to Carbon Capture and Water Harvesting from Air”
Featuring Dr. Omar M. Yaghi, University of California, Berkeley. Read more on lecture and view in YouTube.


Remodel of Bob’s Grill Kicks Off with a Nitrogen Ice Cream Demo. Come celebrate the legacy of Professor Kerber at West Side Dining.


The fifth Annual Francis Johnson Lecture was held on October 15, 2019 at 4:00 pm in the Charles B. Wang Center Theater. This year’s speaker was Peter Schultz, Scripps Professor of Chemistry & Chief Executive Officer and President, The Scripps Research Institute. The title of his lecture was “Playing with the Molecules of Life. ”  Host: Dr’s. Francis Johnson and Markus Seeliger.


The Institute of Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery (ICB&DD) held it's13th Annual Symposium in the Charles B. Wang Center.


We are happy to learn that Stanley Whittingham is one of three battery scientist to be awarded Nobel Prize in Chemistry.


Chemistry Research Day - Featuring Keynote Speaker, Esther S. Takeuchi, SUNY Distinguished Professor


Sadly we report John M. Alexander, one of our emeritus faculty and former chair of the Department of Chemistry, passed away suddenly on Friday, September 20, 2019. Read more



An Exciting Fall with the Department of Chemistry, highlighting three events in Chemistry Department.


Congrats to Dr. Alicia Mullaley and Dr. Daniel Amarante, two new lecturers in our department!



Congrats to Maria Nagan who has been named a 2019 ACS fellow!



Dr. Peter Tonge and Daniel Raleigh were inducted as members of the National Academy of Inventors. They were honored at the Annual Meeting of the National Academy of Inventors SBU Chapter which took place on May 1 in the Wang Center. Read more



Welcome! Fulbright Scholar, Greta Klejborowska, as a Visiting Graduate Student from Adam Mickiewicz University, Poznań, Poland joined the Ojima Laboratory. She is in the final year of her Ph.D. study in Poland and will spend one year in the Ojima Laboratory to work on the tumor-targeted drug conjugates of natural product-based anticancer agents to complete her Ph.D. Thesis.


Congratulations to Troy Wolfskill who is being recognized today along with other retirees at the CAS “The Difference You Make” ceremony. We are informed that Troy will be the first retiree to be recognized.


Congratulations to Dr. Boros and Dr. Haranahalli on being the 2019 “Young Academic Inventor’s Award” Winners.




Congratulations to Prof. Peter Tonge on being named a SUNY DIstinguished Professor. This distinction recognizes Prof. Tonge's boundless commitment to excellence in research and his dedicated service to our students, the Department of Chemistry, and Stony Brook University. 





congratulations to Prof. Melanie Chiu and Prof. Ming-Yu Ngai for being chosen as two of the four university-wide finalists for this year's Discovery Prize competition.




Congrats to James Breton for being the researcher of the month! Read more





Congrats to Prof. Nancy Goroff for her recognition as the 2019 Diversity Catalyst Lecturer! She will speak at the upcoming OXIDE National Diversity and Equity Workshop. OXIDE (the Open Chemistry Collaborative in Diversity Equity) is an NSF, NIH, and DOE sponsored initiative to promote inclusivity in academic Chemistry departments by working with chairs of leading research departments.  





Yuning Chen, a finalist for the 2019 Justin Jankunas Doctoral Dissertation Award from the American Physical Society's Division of Chemical Physics