Skip Navigation

Seven SBU Faculty Elected AAAS Fellows

In honor of their invaluable contributions to science and technology, seven members of the Stony Brook University faculty have been named fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS):

David Thanassi, Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Stella Tsirka, Professor, Pharmacological Sciences

Peter Tonge, Distinguished Professor, Department of Chemistry

Richard Gerrig, Professor, Department of Psychology; Interim Dean, Graduate School; Vice Provost for Graduate and Professional Education

Minghua Zhang, Distinguished Professor, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences; Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Erich Mackow, Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Don Ihde, Distinguished Professor, Department of Philosophy

They join 443 newly elected fellows, earning this lifetime distinction after being chosen by their peers. The 2019 group will receive official certificates and rosette pins in gold and blue, colors symbolizing science and engineering, in a ceremony on February 15, 2020, during the AAAS Annual Meeting in Seattle.

The fellows represent each of AAAS’ 24 sections, from neuroscience and psychology to social, economic and political sciences. The honor recognizes diverse accomplishments, including pioneering research, leadership within a given field, teaching and mentoring, fostering collaborations, and advancing public understanding of science.

Read more

Read story "Seven Stony Brook Faculty Elected AAAS Fellows" on SBU News