Skip Navigation

Department News Archive

This page is an archive of  department news headlines. For university-published news articles about our department, please check the Physics and Astronomy in the News archive.


Spring 2022

Jin Koda Receives Two 2022 CAS Teaching Awards


The Physics and Astronomy Department congratulates Jin Koda for being a 2022 recipient of the following awards from the College of Arts and Sciences:

Godfrey Excellence in Teaching AwardJohn S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching Excellence

Professor Koda was selected by the Dean's Student Advisory Council to receive these awards based on his exceptional teaching and passion for his field of study, as well as for the mentorship of his students.Congratulations, Professor Koda!

Derek Pope Wins 1st Place in 2022 3MT Competition

Derek Pope, a Science Education Ph.D. student, has won 1st place in the Three Minute Thesis competition with his talk titled "Imagine Actually Understanding Math? Student teachers' beliefs about how math should be taught."

derek pope

Derek will now go on to represent Stony Brook in the Northeastern regional 3MT competition hosted by the Northeastern Association of Graduate Schools on April 28th.

The final round of the 2022 competition may be viewed above, or at SBU's 3MT page.

Inaugural Chair's Cup Soccer Tournament

The Inaugural Department of Physics & Astronomy Chair's Cup Soccer Tournament starts this month!


This tournament is established to encourage cross socialization among the research groups as well as vertical socialization among students, postdocs, staff and faculty in the department.

On the first day, the Chair will kick-off the tournament at 4:45PM and unveil the trophy that will be presented to the first place winners. A recording will be posted on the tournament's Facebook page.

We look forward to a wonderful soccer tournament season!

Yiyang Jia Receives President's Award to Distinguished Doctoral Students


Only five awards each year are granted to outstanding graduates.

Chang Kee Jung  Receives Lilienfeld Prize

The Julius Edgar Lilienfeld Prize recognizes outstanding contributions to physics and exceptional skills in lecturing to diverse audiences.

Documentary video of 2022 APS Prizes, featuring Prof. Jung

New Faculty

We welcome two new assistant professors, Vivian Miranda and Jesus Perez Rios, this semester. Vivian's research area is theoretical cosmology and Jesus' research area is theoretical AMO. Welcome to Stony Brook Vivian and Jesus!

Vivian Miranda

Vivian Miranda

Jesus Perez Rios

Jesus Perez Rios

C.N. Yang's 100th Birthday

The department held a small celebration on September 7th to mark the 100th Birthday and towering achievements of C.N. Yang. 


Video of celebration

 sPHENIX construction

The machine shop crew has successfully completed construction of the iHCAL sled for the sPHENIX Detector at BNL. A major accomplishment!

iHCAL sled for sPHENIX

Change of UPD

This Spring semester we welcome Dominik Schneble as new Undergraduate Program Director replacing Bob McCarthy who has excellently served in that position for many years (two different times). We deeply appreciate his service. Bob will, however, continue overseeing the Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program. Thank you Prof. McCarthy! 

Bob McCarthy

Bob McCarthy

Dominik Schneble

Dominik Schneble




Fall 2021

Changing of the chair

This Fall semester we saw the transition of Department Chair from Axel Drees, who has provided outstanding leadership for the last six years, to Chang Kee Jung. Exciting times are ahead for our department!

Chair handover

MAT program in the 5+ club

Our Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) program  received the 2020-2021 5+ Club award for graduating 5 or more physics teachers. We are one of only 9 institutions recognized in the nation.

Outstanding SPS Chapter

Our UG Society of Physics Students (SPS) Chapter has been recognized as a 2021 Outstanding Chapter by the SPS National Council.  This is the highest level of distinction given to chapters and is received by less than 15% chapters annually, with just 80 of 844 chapters so honored this year.