Skip Navigation

Current News

Dr.  Ming-Yu Ngai, Congratulations on the issuance of your Patent, Difluoromethoxylation and Trifluoromethoxylation Composition and Methods for Synthesizing Same, patent number 11,760,701.
 ICB&DD 17th Annual Symposium.  More
Dr. Elizabeth Boon appointed to the role of Associate Dean of Strategic Initiatives in the Graduate School.
Dr.  Iwao Ojima, Congratulations on the issuance of your Patent, Alpha-Truxillic Acid Derivatives and Pharmaceutical Compositions Thereof, patent number 11,739,047.
Dr. Chris Johnson Wins Stony Brook Foundation Discovery Prize   see more


Stanislaus Wong, Distinguished Professor and Chair for Department of Chemistry

Stan received his PhD from Harvard University. A Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Royal Society of Chemistry, and the National Academy of Inventors, Stan has received the ACS Inorganic Nanoscience Award, an Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, the ACS Buck-Whitney Award, and a National Science Foundation CAREER Award. In 2018, he received the SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities, and in 2019, was named a SUNY Distinguished Professor.

Stan was elected to the 2021 class of American Chemical Society (ACS) fellows based on his distinguished contributions to carbon nanotube chemistry; the sustainable synthesis and characterization of novel nanoscale formulations of scientifically relevant oxide-based nanostructures; and the rational tailoring of nanomaterials for energy applications.

Stan succeeds Peter Tonge, PhD, distinguished professor of chemistry, as chair of the Department of Chemistry.


Surita Bhatia, Professor and Interim Chair for Department of Anthropology

Surita received her PhD from Princeton University. In 2012, she accepted a joint position as a staff scientist at the Center for Functional Nanomaterials at Brookhaven National Laboratory and a faculty member in the Department of Chemistry. Surita is a professor of chemistry, affiliate professor of materials science and chemical engineering, and director of the NSF NRT PhD training grant on Quantitative Analysis of Materials. 

Surita previously served as Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs and Vice Chair of the Department of Chemistry. She will resume her role as Associate Dean for Innovation, Diversity, Equity, and Access in Fall 2024. Throughout her career, Surita has been a supportive mentor and a champion for diversity, equity and inclusion, and has been recognized at the national level for her work on inclusion and diversity in STEM fields. She is also an active educator and researcher, serving as PI or Co-PI on grants from NSF, NIH, DOE, industry, and foundations totaling more than $16M, and is a Fellow of three scientific societies in her field.

Surita succeeds Andreas Koenig, PhD, professor in the Department of Anthropology, as interim chair of the Department.

Alumni event at the ACS Conference in San Francisco  See More


2023 Senior Research Symposium  See More


Please join me in congratulating Eszter Boros for receiving a Camille
Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award.

Congratulations Eszter, this is wonderful news!


Please join me in congratulating Dr. Surita Bhatia for being awarded the SUNY Chancellor's Award for Excellence in Scholarship and Creative Activities.

Congratulations Surita, this is wonderful news!


Congratulations to Katherine Hughes for being awarded a College of Arts and Sciences Staff Excellence Award.
Congratulations Katherine, this is wonderful news!