Skip Navigation

The Difference You Make 2023 Awards and Recognition Ceremony
may 2, 2023

We held our annual awards event, recognizing this year's retirees from the College, as well as recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards, John Toll Endowed Award for Excellence in Teaching,  Staff Excellence Awards,  IDEA Grads and graduating seniors from the Dean's 2022-23 Student Advisory Council. 

View photos from the Difference You Make 

We honored the following faculty and staff retirees:

  • David Hicks,Department of  Anthropology 
  • Howardena Pindell, Department of Art
  • Trevor Sears, Department of Chemistry
  • Michael Teta, Department of Chemistry
  • Jessica Gurevitch, Department of Ecology and Evolution
  • Kenneth Lindblom, Department of English
  • Patricia Dunn, Department of English
  • Peter Manning, Department of English
  • Scott McLennan, Department of Geosciences 
  • Susan Grumet, Department of History 
  • Birgit Grosse-Middledorf, Department of Languages and Cultural Studies 
  • Ellen Broselow, Department of Linguistics 
  • David Ebin, Department of Mathematics 
  • Frank Morelli, Department of Music
  • Ray Anderson, Department of Music
  • Ed Casey, Department of Philosophy
  • Jeffrey Slechta, Department of Physics and Astronomy 
  • Robert McCarthy, Department of Physics and Astronomy 
  • Michael Gurvitch, Department of Physics and Astronomy 
  • Michael Rijssenbeek, Department of Physics and Astronomy 
  • Warren Siegel, C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics
  • Peter Salins, Department of Political Science
  • Stanley Feldman, Department of Political Science
  • Helmut Norpoth, Department of Political Science 
  • Eugene Hammond, Program in Writing and Rhetoric 
  • Arthur Samuel, Department of Psychology 
  • Amy Sullivan, Department of Theater Arts 



Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards/john S. Toll Endowed award for teaching excellence 

Students from across the College were invited to nominate faculty for the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Award, named in honor of our longtime colleague, the late Aaron (Bill) Godfrey, whose 52-year career at Stony Brook impacted the lives of so many students. A student panel selected our 2023 recipients, one in each of five disciplines, from nearly 100 nominations.

The John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching Excellence at Stony Brook University is presented to a faculty member based on their exceptional teaching and passion for their field of study, as well as for the mentorship of students. Recipients are selected by the Dean’s Student Advisory Council among current and previous years’ recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards.

  • John True
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Life SciencesDepartment of Ecology and Evolution
  • Ray Anderson
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Fine ArtsDepartment of Music
  • Jesus Perez-Rios
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Physical SciencesDepartment of Physics and Astronomy
  • Andreas Koenig
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Social Sciences Department of Anthropology
  • Heidi Hutner
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Humanities Department of English
  • Nancy Hiemstra
    Joshua Rest
    John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching ExcellenceDepartment of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Staff Excellence Awards

Our staff are an integral part of the College, providing expert administrative support to our departments and centers, support to our students, and furthering our creative and scholarly missions. These individuals are recognized for the excellence demonstrated at their positions and the lengths they go to in order to support their departments.

Dean's Student Advisory Council 2023 Graduates

IDEA Grads  AY 2022-23