Skip Navigation

2019 Difference You Make Awards and Recognition Ceremony
April 17, 2019
Hilton Garden Inn, Stony Brook

We honored faculty and staff who recently retired from Stony Brook, including:

  • Michele Bogart, Department of Art
  • Gregory Rudomen, Department of Biochemistry
  • Troy Wolfskill, Department of Chemistry
  • Michael Bell, Department of Ecology and Evolution
  • Clifford Huffman, Department of English
  • E. Ann Kaplan, Department of English and Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Luigi Fontanella, Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures
  • Wilbur Miller, Department of History
  • Donna Severino, Department of Italian Studies
  • Christina Bethin, Department of Linguistics
  • Donna McWilliams, Department of Mathematics
  • Jerry Willard, Department of Music
  • Lorna Role, Department of Neurobiology and Behavior
  • David Talmage, Department of Pharmacology
  • Mark Jablonski, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Germaine Hoynos, Department of Political Science
  • Nancy Franklin, Department of Psychology
  • Ian Roxborough, Department of Sociology
  • Theresa Tiso, Department of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Bente Videbaek, Department of English
  • Lucille Meci, Department of Mathematics

Nicole Sampson, Troy Wolfskill Dale, and Drueckhammer 

Interim Dean Nicole Sampson, Troy Wolfskill, and Dale Drueckhammer, Department of Chemistry

Bente Videbaek and Luigi Fontanella

Honorees Bente Videbaek  and Luigi Fontanella

Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards

Students from across the College were invited to nominate faculty who go above and beyond -- those who demonstrate a warm spirit, a concern for societ, individuals, and those who share their knowledge. A student panel selected our 2019 recipients from more than 130 nominations. 

Dean's Student Advisory Council Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Award Recipients: Eva Nagasse, Catherine Marrone, and Michael Zingale

Dean's Student Advisory Council members Avi Bajaj,                  Eva Nagase, Catherine Marrone and Michael Zingale 
Nicole Lamacchia, Raj Rajebhosale and Joelle Mann

Staff Excellence Awards

Our staff are an integral part of the College, providing expert administrative support to our departments and centers, support to our students, and furthering our creative and scholarly missions. These individuals are recongnized for the excellence demonstrated at their positions and the lengths they go to in order to support their departments.

Staff Excellence Award Recipients: Jackie Donnelly, Mary Moran-Luba, and Jin Bentley

Staff Excellence award recipients Jackie Donnelly, Mary Moran-Luba and Jin Bentley