Skip Navigation

The Difference You Make 2021 Virtual Awards and Recognition Ceremony
may 5, 2021

We held our annual awards event via Zoom, recognizing this year's retirees from the College, as well as recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards, Jo hn Toll Endowed Award for Excellence in Teaching,  Staff Excellence Awards, SUNY Chancellor’s Awards for Excellence recipients, and graduating seniors from the Dean's 2020-21 Student Advisory Council. 

We honored the following faculty and staff retirees:

  • Michael Anderson, Department of Mathematics 
  • Robert Bloomer, Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures
  • Carol Carlson, Department of Psychology
  • Dennis Clarke, Program in Writing and Rhetoric
  • C. Denson Hill, Department of Mathematics
  • Stephen Koch, Department of Chemistry
  • Ned Landsman, Department of History
  • Brooke Larson, Department of History
  • John Lutterbie, Department of Theatre Arts
  • Iona Man-Cheong, Department of History
  • Tatiana Rzhevsky, Department of Hispanic Languages and Literature
  • Peter Stephens, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Bradford Tooker, Department of Chemistry
  • Michael Vaughan, Mineral Physics Institute
  • Patricia Whitaker, Department of Psychology
  • Marilynn Wollmuth, Department of Psychology




Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards/john S. Toll Endowed award for teaching excellence 

Students from across the College were invited to nominate faculty for the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Award, named in honor of our longtime colleague, the late Aaron (Bill) Godfrey, whose 52-year career at Stony Brook impacted the lives of so many students. A student panel selected our 2021 recipients, one in each of five disciplines, from nearly 100 nominations.

The John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching Excellence at Stony Brook University is presented to a faculty member based on their exceptional teaching and passion for their field of study, as well as for the mentorship of students. Recipients are selected by the Dean’s Student Advisory Council among current and previous years’ recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards.

  • Stephanie Dinkins
      Stephanie Dinkins
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Fine Arts Department of Art
  • Alan Kim
    Alan Kim
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Humanities Department of Philosophy
  • Joshua Rest
    Joshua Rest
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Life Sciences   Department of Ecology and Evolution 
  • Ellen Broselow
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Social Sciences Department of  Linguistics
  • Daniel Amarante
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Physical Sciences Department of Chemistry
  • Marci Lobel 
    John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching Excellence Department of Psychology

Staff Excellence Awards

Our staff are an integral part of the College, providing expert administrative support to our departments and centers, support to our students, and furthering our creative and scholarly missions. These individuals are recognized for the excellence demonstrated at their positions and the lengths they go to in order to support their departments.

  • Liz Fish
      Liz Fish
    Building Manager Department of Psychology
  • April Musano
    April Musano
    Director of Chemistry Facilities and Operations Department of Chemistry
  • Libby Tolson
      Libby Tolson
    Assistant to the Chair Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures

2021 SUNY Chancellor's Awards for Excellence 

scholarship & creative activities

Leonie Huddy

Leonie Huddy
Professor and Chair, Political Science

Faculty service 

Jennifer Albanese

Jennifer Albanese Senior Lecturer, Writing and Rhetoric

Shyam Sharma

Shyam Sharma
Associate Professor
Writing and Rhetoric


Celia Marshik, Professor,  English



Elyse Graham, Associate Professor, Department of English


Sarah Jourdain
Associate Professor and Chair 
European Languages and Literatures and Cultures


Eriko Sato
Associate Professor
Asian and Asian American Studies


Lorena Salcedo-Watson
Lecturer, Art


Cindy Forman

Cynthia Forman
Assistant to the Chair, Psychology


Helen Harrison
Eugene V. and Clare E. Thaw Director, Pollock-Krasner House and Study Center


Theresa Spadola
Graduate Program Coordinator Department of English

adjunct teaching

Jason Rose

Jason Rose
Adjunct Professor  Political Science

Dean's Student Advisory Council 2021 Graduates

Avi BajajAvi Bajaj '21 Psychology, Minors in Chemistry, and Health, Medicine and Society


CastiblancoBelinda Castiblanco '20
MA in Hispanic Languages and Literatures / Spanish Teacher Preparation 

GuerraJose Guerra '21 Biochemistry, Minors in Chemistry and Music

HarbMohammed Harb '21
So ciology and Biology

EspositoTaylor Esposito '21
Political Science and Philosophy, Minors in United States History, and Professional Writing

Jade NineJade Nine '21 Asian and Asian American Studies and Mathematics