Skip Navigation

The Difference You Make 2020 Virtual Awards and Recognition Ceremony
APRIL 15, 2020

We held our annual awards event via Zoom, recognizing this year's retirees from the College, as well as faculty recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards and Staff Excellence Awards.

We honored the following faculty and staff retirees:

  • Kamal (Meena) Sridhar, Department of Asian and Asian American Studies 
  • Elizabeth Stone, Department of Anthropology
  • James Rubin, Department of Art
  • Jeffrey Levinton, Department of Ecology and Evolution
  • Liz Rehn, Department of English
  • Nicholas Rzhevsky, Department of European Languages, Literatures and Cultures
  • Gil Hanson, Department of Geosciences
  • Michael Barnhart, Department of History
  • Gary Marker, Department of History
  • Paul Zimansky, Department of History
  • Marianne Catalano, Department of Linguistics
  • John Morgan, Department of Mathematics, Simons Center
  • Joel Levine, Department of Neurobiology and Behavior
  • Peter Koch, Department of Physics and Astronomy
  • Said Arjomand, Department of Sociology
  • Deborah Mayo, Department of Theatre Arts



Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards

Students from across the College were invited to nominate faculty who go above and beyond -- those who demonstrate a warm spirit, a concern for society and individuals, and genuinely care for students. A student panel selected our 2020 recipients from nearly 100 nominations. 

  • Amy Yopp Sullivan
      Amy Sullivan
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Fine Arts Department of Art
  • Andrew Flescher
    Andrew Flescher
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Humanitites Department of English
  • Ed Luk
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Life Sciences   Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology 
  • Marci Lobel
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Social Sciences Department of  Psychology
  • Maria Nagan
    Maria Nagan
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Physical Sciences Department of Chemistry

Staff Excellence Awards

Our staff are an integral part of the College, providing expert administrative support to our departments and centers, support to our students, and furthering our creative and scholarly missions. These individuals are recongnized for the excellence demonstrated at their positions and the lengths they go to in order to support their departments.


The Difference You Make 2019