Skip Navigation

The Difference You Make 2022 Awards and Recognition Ceremony
may 11, 2022

We held our annual awards event, recognizing this year's retirees from the College, as well as recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards, John Toll Endowed Award for Excellence in Teaching,  Staff Excellence Awards,  and graduating seniors from the Dean's 2021-22 Student Advisory Council. 

We honored the following faculty and staff retirees:

  • Darlene Prowse,Department of  Asian and Asian American Studies
  • Annette Palazzo, Center for Italian Studies
  • Kathlyn Parker, Department of Chemistry
  • Walter Eanes, Department of Ecology and Evolution
  • Stephen Spector, Department of English
  • Eric Haralson, Department of English
  • Dan Davis, Department of Geosciences
  • Daniel Finer, Department of Linguistics
  • Mark Aronoff, Department of Linguistics
  • Patrick Tonra, Department of Mathematics
  • Donald Weidner, Department of Geosciences
  • Paul R. Adams, Department of Neurobiology
  • Robert Harvey, Department of Philosophy
  • Mary Rawlinson, Department of Philosophy
  • Eugene Shafto, Department of Physics
  • Harsh Bhasin, Department of Political Science
  • Marvin Goldfried, Department of Psychology
  • Donna Hildenbrand, Department of Psychology
  • Jean Bieselin, Department of Psychology
  • Sharon Worksman, Department of Sociology
  • Wanda Vega, Department of Sociology
  • Peg Spitzer, Program in Writing and Rhetoric




Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards/john S. Toll Endowed award for teaching excellence 

Students from across the College were invited to nominate faculty for the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Award, named in honor of our longtime colleague, the late Aaron (Bill) Godfrey, whose 52-year career at Stony Brook impacted the lives of so many students. A student panel selected our 2022 recipients, one in each of five disciplines, from nearly 100 nominations.

The John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching Excellence at Stony Brook University is presented to a faculty member based on their exceptional teaching and passion for their field of study, as well as for the mentorship of students. Recipients are selected by the Dean’s Student Advisory Council among current and previous years’ recipients of the Godfrey Excellence in Teaching Awards.

  • Michael Airola
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Life SciencesDepartment of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
  • Erika Honisch
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Fine ArtsDepartment of Music
  • Nancy Hiemstra
    Joshua Rest
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - HumanitiesDepartment of Women's, Gender and Sexuality Studies
  • Harsh Bhasin
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Social SciencesDepartment of Political Science
  • Jin Koda
    Godfrey Excellence in Teaching - Physical Sciences and John S. Toll Endowed Award for Teaching ExcellenceDepartment of Physics and Astronomy

Staff Excellence Awards

Our staff are an integral part of the College, providing expert administrative support to our departments and centers, support to our students, and furthering our creative and scholarly missions. These individuals are recognized for the excellence demonstrated at their positions and the lengths they go to in order to support their departments.

  • Soraya Zabihi
    Director of Research and Assessment College of Arts and Sciences - Office of the Dean
  • Paula Di Pasquale-Alvarez
    Paula Alvarez
    Director of Curriculum College of Arts and Sciences - Office of the Dean
  • Norma Reyes
     Norma Reyes
    Assistant to the ChairDepartment of Chemistry

Dean's Student Advisory Council 2022 Graduates

Noor ImranNoor Imran '22 Philosophy



Ahmad SyedAhmad Syed '22


Alice MoAlice Mo '22


MachucaAnthony Machuca '22

Psychology, Sociology and Health Sciences

Maheen SiddiquiMaheen Siddiqui '22

Health Sciences

Zarya ShaikhZarya Shaikh '22 

Biochemistry and
Women’s, Gender and Sexuality Studies