Holiday Schedule For RF Employees

September 2014 through September 2015


Labor Day Monday September 1, 2014
Columbus Day* Monday October 13, 2014
Election Day* Tuesday November 4, 2014
Veteran's Day (observed)* Tuesday November 11, 2014
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 27, 2014
Christmas Day Thursday December 25, 2014
New Year's Day Thursday January 1, 2015
Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Day Monday January 19, 2015
Lincoln's Birthday* Thursday February 12, 2015
Washington's Birthday (observed)* Monday February 16, 2015
Memorial Day Monday May 25, 2015
Independence Day Saturday July 4, 2015
Labor Day Monday September 7, 2015

*CLASSES WILL BE IN SESSION AND OFFICES REMAIN OPEN ON: Columbus Day, Election Day, Veteran's Day, Lincoln's Birthday and Washington's Birthday.

Full-time employees will earn holiday leave for all observed holidays that are worked. The maximum holiday leave earned will be 7.50 hours for a 37.50 hour workweek or 8.00 hours for a 40-hour workweek. Full time employees who take off on a holiday will receive a full day's pay.

Part-time employees (who work 50% effort or more) are entitled to observe only those holidays that fall on days when they are regularly scheduled to work. When a holiday falls on a scheduled work day the part time employee earns whatever hours they normally work for that particular day, not to exceed 7.50 or 8.00 hours. When a holiday falls on a weekend the part time employee earns the value of double their sick accrual rate. (Example: normally earns 2.00 hours sick time will earn 4.00 hours in holiday time.) Part time employees who take off on a holiday will receive pay for the hours he or she is scheduled to normally work on that particular day. All part time employees MUST have a work schedule on file with the Research Foundation Payroll Unit.

For all employees Supervisory approval is required before holiday leave can be taken. The Research Foundation encourages employees to use leave within a reasonable period.

Holiday leave, if not used before termination of employment, will be lost.

For additional information, please call your Research Foundation Appointment & Payroll Specialist.