Skip Navigation

Recent Grants and Awards



Jason Jones -- with colleagues from Ohio State, Michigan, and Cornell Universities is part of a team that was selected to receive data and funding from the Social Science Research Council to study information sharing on Facebook.  For more information see: "Understanding Problematic Sharing Behavior on Facebook"


Carrie Shandra  -- Russell Sage Foundation, Visiting Scholar Program. "Market, Employer, and Student Trends in Internship Vacancies, Hiring, and Participation." 2018-2019, $46,000. -- $20,000

Jennifer Heerwig -- Russell Sage Foundation, Visiting Scholar Program. "Bringing Elites back In: Investigating the Long-Term Political Behavior of the American Corporate Elite."  2018-2019

Carrie Shandra  -- Pathways Through College Research Network, Wisconsin Center for Education Research, 2018-2019, $8,000


Jennifer Heerwig -- Massiver Data Institute Seed Grant, Georgetown University.  Project title: "The Seattle Voucher Experiment: Using Big Data to Enhance Local Democracy." July 2017 ($38,000)


Carrie Shandra  -- Russell Sage Foundation -- $20,000

Aarushi Bhandari, Ph.D. student -- P.E.O. International Peace Scholarship

Tiffany Joseph  -- Named one of five Nancy Weiss Malkiel Junior Faculty Fellows for 2016, Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation

Tiffany Joseph  -- American Sociological Association Fund to Advance the Discipline Grant

Rebekah Burroway  -- SAGE Teaching Innovations and Professional Development Award

Andrew Hargrove, Ph.D. Student -- National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship


Jennifer Heerwig  and   Josh Murray  (Asst. Professor, Vanderbilt and SBU Sociology Alumni) -- Russel Sage Foundation Grant -- $33,000

Jason Jones  (Co-PI with   Jie Gao, Department of Computer Science) -- NSF AitF -- $720,000

Oyeronke Oyewumi  -- South African National University Fellowship -- $30,000

Tiffany Joseph  and Ph.D. Student Clayton Fordahl -- Graduate Fellowship and Faculty Research Program in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences -- $20,000

Suzan Walters, Ph.D. student -- American Sociological Association 2015 Outstanding Student Paper Award, Disability and Society Section


Oyeronke Oyewumi  --  Fulbright Scholar Grant

Rebekah Burroway,   Cathy Marrone, and   Carrie Shandra  -- Dean's Funds for Excellence awards

Sasha Rodriguez, Ph.D. student -- American Sociological Association Minority Fellowship

Bethany Coston, Ph.D. student -- Madeline Fusco Fellowship Award

Sasha Rodriguez, Ph.D. student -- Faculty-Staff Dissertation Fellowship

Amanda Kennedy, PhD. student -- President's Award for Excellence in Teaching

Sociology Major Neha Kinariwalla --   Gates Cambridge University Fellowship

Tarun Banerjee, Ph.D. student -- Judith Tanur Dissertation Research Award

Crystal Fleming  -- Career Enhancement Fellowship from the   Woodrow Wilson Foundation


Recent years

Arnout van de Rijt --   Research grant  --  NSF  -- $274,769

Tarun Banerjee  and   Michael Schwartz  -- Dissertation Improvement Grant --  NSF  -- $12,000

Michael Restivo  and   Arnout van de Rijt  -- Dissertation Improvement Grant --  NSF  -- $12,000

Michael Kimmel --   John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation  grant for a Center for the Study of Men & Masculinities -- $300,000

Carrie Shandra  -- Emerging Investigator Award -- DRC & SSA -- $30,000

Arnout van de Rijt  and Robert J. Harrison -- Research Initiatives Seed Grant -- SBU & BNL -- $38,260

Rebekah Burroway  --   TALENT grant  -- Stony Brook University   Teaching, Learning & Technology  -- $6,000

Tarun Banerjee,   Rebekah Burroway  and   Michael Schwartz  --   FAD award  --   ASA  /   NSF  -- $7,000

Crystal Fleming  -- 2012  Georges Lavau Dissertation Award  --   APSA French Politics Group

Lori Scarlatos, Alexander Orlov,   Arnout van de Rijt  and David Tonjes --   Innovative Instruction Technology Grant  -- SUNY -- $60,000

Michael Schwartz  -- 2012   Carla B. Howery Award for Developing Teacher Scholars  --   ASA

Arnout van de Rijt  and Steven Skiena --   Seed Grant for Survey Research  --   SBU Center for Survey Research  -- $10,000

Carrie Shandra --   Spencer Postdoctoral Fellowship  --   National Academy of Education  -- $55,000

Carrie Shandra  --   FAD award  --   ASA  /   NSF  -- $7,000

Joshua Murray and  Michael Schwartz  --   Dissertation Improvement Grant  --   NSF  -- $3,635

Joshua Murray,  Arnout van de Rijt  and   John Shandra  --   FAD award  --   ASA  /   NSF  -- $7,000

Arnout van de Rijt  --   Freeman Award for Distinguished Young Scholar  --   INSNA

Vincent Buskens and   Arnout van de Rijt  --   Prize for Best Article  --   European Academy of Sociology  -- €500

Arnout van de Rijt  (with Jie Gao & Steven Skiena) --   Interdisciplinary Initiatives Fund  (2x) --   FAHSS  -- $10,000

Tomothy Moran, Javier Auyero and   Michael Schwartz  -- Research Grant --   NSF  -- $245,235

Ken Feldman  --   Howard R. Bowen Distinguished Career Award  --   Association for the Study of Higher Education

Eran Shor and  Michael Schwartz  --   Dissertation Improvement Grant  --   NSF  -- $12,000

Judith Tanur  --   Innovators Award  --   American Association for Public Opinion Research

Judith Tanur --   Dean’s Award for Graduate Student Mentoring  --   SBU

Login to Edit