Skip Navigation

Annual Departmental Awards & Prizes

Unless indicated otherwise, awards come with a small financial honorarium

Alex and Zach Traum Research Award
In honor of the Traum family, graduates of Stony Brook, in recognition of excellence in the study of American History.

Catherine Wang Award
In honor of Catherine Wang, a 1982 Stony Brook graduate in History who went on to become an attorney specializing in communications law. She is now a partner at a prestigious Washington, D.C. law first and remains a generous and committed donor to the History department. The award is given to a graduating senior most likely to leave his/her own mark on history.

Returning Student Award
Presented to an outstanding returning student who has completed their degree in History.

Richard B. Martin Scholarship Award
In honor of Richard B. Martin, class of 1968, now a principal in the law firm of Martin & Molinari in Freeport, New York. Through his generous contribution, the scholarship recognizes an undergraduate who demonstrates significant promise and potential in the study of history.

Roger Wunderlich Memorial Award
In honor of Roger Wunderlich who earned his PhD in History at Stony Brook after retirement from a former career. He was the department's oldest-ever PhD recipient. He then went on with great energy to become founder, editor, and publisher of the Long Island Historical Journal. Roger had a passion for historical inquiry fervently believed that Long Island's history was a microcosm of the history of the American Republic.

Rosalie & Emil Berla Scholar
For an outstanding student in Judaic Studies with a minimum 3.0 GPA.

Staudenraus Award
In honor of Philip J. Staudenraus, a former U.S. history professor who specialized in abolitionism
and the Civil War. He was also a great champion of undergraduate writing. This award is presented for service to the History Department and more broadly to the Stony Brook community.

Stony Brook Foundation Award
Presented to the graduating senior with the highest GPA in History.

URECA (Undergraduate Research & Creative Activities)
Presented to students who discuss their original research at the annual History Department
Undergraduate Conference, coordinated in conjunction with the university-wide URECA
undergraduate research symposium.

W.K. Ferguson Award
In honor of Wallace K. Ferguson, a renown historian of the Renaissance. The fund was established by Professor Elof Carlson, a retired Stony Brook University Distinguished Teaching Professor in the Department of Bio Chemistry and Cell Biology. An American geneticist, noted historian of science, and the first Headmaster of Stony Brook University's Honors College, Dr. Carlson established the fund in recognition of the importance of History and the impact Wallace Ferguson had on him as a student. To qualify, students must have a minimum 3.2 GPA in History.