Skip Navigation


2020 Virtual Degree Conferral Celebration

Message from the Dean

Congratulations Department of Hispanic Languages and Literature Class of 2020 and to the parents, partners, siblings, and friends who supported them. Thank you for joining us to honor our students and be a part of this special celebration.

The past couple of months have brought new challenges unlike many of us have ever known. I applaud each of you, our amazing Seawolves in your Stony Brook red. Our courageous and dedicated students who did not lose sight of the finish line, eager to complete this phase of your education and achieve your dreams. Our next wave of leaders.

Today, toss your virtual caps in the air. You’ve earned it. You made it!  And it will be an experience you will never forget.


Dean Sampson

Message from the Chair

Dear students and families:

Congratulations! It is our deep honor to celebrate with you, through this modified format, the impressive achievement of your graduation. At the department of Hispanic Languages and Literature we pride ourselves in getting to know our students, fostering community, diversity and cultural awareness. Thank you for allowing us to share your journey these last few years. We wish you every success and happiness in the next stage of your lives, and very much hope you will stay in touch. We could not be prouder of you!


Prof. Daniela Flesler

Department Convocation Video


Department Convocation Booklet



Undergraduate University Honors
Magna Cum Laude (GPA 3.7+): Terrie Hsun
Summa Cum Laude (GPA 3.85+): Ian Lesnick

Undergraduate Departmental Honors
Best GPA in Spanish Major: Ian Lesnick
Best Essay Award: Anita Rescia, “La cultura inextricable de la lengua: una investigación a través de las expresiones idiomáticas”

Graduate Departmental Awards
Best Essay Award:
María Medín Doce, “La alteración del espacio: encuentros con la otredad en Inferno verde de Alberto Rangel”
Mario Henao, “De lo peor siempre viene lo mejor: nuevas formas de mirar en Yo, la peor de todas de María Luisa Bemberg”

Excellence in Graduate Teaching:
Sara Martínez Navarro

Non Departmental Graduate Awards

Humanities Institute Fellowship Cornell University Summer School of Criticism and Theory:
Isabel Murcia Estrada

Public Humanities Fellowship from the NY Council for the Humanities 2020-2021:
Moisés Hassan Bendahan

Preseident's Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Graduate Student:
Sara Martínez Navarro

Turner Dissertation Fellowship Award
Régulo Silva

Summer 2020 AHLSS Research Fellowship
Isabel Murcia Estrada
Moisés Hassan Bendahan

Commencement Video

Frequently Asked Questions

View the Full Commencement Program