Skip Navigation

OLLI at SBU Executive Council  (OEC)

The primary responsibility of the Executive Council is to work in conjunction with the OLLI Program Director & their designees on all aspects of the OLLI program. 

The Executive Council is charged with ensuring that the program's mission and vision are adhered to. The Executive Council shall work collaboratively with the OLLI Program Director to address issues as they arise. If an issue remains unresolved, it shall be addressed according to the policy found in the Operations Manual.

The Executive Council works to encourage a diverse, equitable, inclusive, and engaged membership that fosters mutual respect, understanding, and collaboration amongst the membership, OLLI staff, and Stony Brook University.

For more information on joining the Executive Council , please contact the following:
  Mary Hance

Mary Hance

OLLI Executive Council President

Member Since: 2017

Ella Nyc

Ella Nyc

OLLI Executive Council President-Elect

Member Since: 2011

  Jothi Curcio

Jothi Curcio

Immediate Past Executive Council President

Member Since: 2012


Ed Metzendorf

Budget Chairperson

Member Since: 2013

  Helen Emmerich

Helen Emmerich 

OLLI Executive Council Secretary

Member Since: 2004


Faye Graber

Arts Committee

Member Since: 1999


Robert Stone

Arts Committee

Member Since: 2009

Image of Michael Lomonico

Mike LoMonico

Curriculum Committee Co-Chairperson

Member Since: 2016

Karen Dipaola

Karen Dipaola

Curriculum Committee Co-Chairperson

Member Since:  2017

  Sue Mruz

Sue Mruz

Member Relations Committee Chairperson

Member Since:  2016

  Bunnye Avril

Bunnye (Merna) Avril

Travel & Leisure Committee Chairperson

Member Since:  2006

   Doreen Day

Doreen Day


Member Since: 2019

Fran Leiboff


Fran Leiboff


Member Since: 2014

Vacant Position 

Jay Zuckerman


Jay Zuckerman


Member Since: 2015

Past OLLI Executive Council Presidents

Ruth Pasternack, 1988-1990    

James A Fowler, 1990-1991

Myron Ledbetter, 1991-1992

Howard Goldberg, 1992-1993

Hank Foglino, 1993-1994

Judith Kertzner, 1994-1995

Theodore Moorman, 1995-1996

Rhoda Spinner, 1996-1997

Carl Siegel, 1997-1998

Joseph Parella, 1998-1999

Egon Neuberger, 1999-2000

Edward C. Johanson, 2000-2001

Beverly Smith, 2001-2002

Richard Cunningham, 2002-2003

Fran Robinson, 2003-2004

Barbara Korin, 2004

Kenneth Buxbaum, 2004-2005

Robert Belsten, 2005

Joe Quinn, 2006-2007

Ellen Guarnieri, 2007-2008

John Gobler, 2008-2009

Mark Salz, 2009 - 2010

Jerry Ebenstein, 2010-2011

Fred Friedman, 2011-2012

Arnold Katz, 2012-2013

Helen Emmerich, 2013-2014

Stephen Goldstein, 2014-2015

Jeff Hollander, 2015-2016

Paul Knel, 2016-2017

Bob Mirman, 2017-2018

Ira Kurtzberg, 2018-2019

Edward J. Metzendorf, 2019-2020

Jothi Curcio, 2020-2021