Skip Navigation


Roles &  Responsibilities

The Financial Sustainability Steering Committee has overall responsibility for the Strategic Budget Initiative across all workstreams, including ensuring overall strategic alignment, identifying opportunities to collaborate, and fostering campus-wide input and effective communication to the Stony Brook community. 

More specifically it will:

  • Meet regularly with each task force to coordinate cross-task force collaborations and to assess and support progress against agreed timelines.
  • Evaluate and review priority opportunity areas from each task force. 
  • Prepare consolidated, prioritized lists of short-term and longer-term opportunities for executive committee review.
  • Coordinate and prioritize resources as needed for each task force in support of the Technical Support Group.


Rose Martinelli, Chair
Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Marrisa  Trachtenberg, Project Lead
Associate Director of Policy,
Compliance and Presidential Initiatives

Anissa Abi- Dargham
Chair: Research & Innovation
Professor/Associate Dean
Clinical & Translational Science
School of Medicine

Christina Dahl
Associate Professor, Department of Music

Samir Das
Professor, Computer Science Department

Axel Drees
Chair: Academic Portfolio
Professor, Department of Physics & Astronomy

Stacey Finkelstein
Associate Professor
Department of Marketing

Carmen Gonzalez  
Chair: Operations Alignment
Assistant Vice President, Procurement Services

Saeedah  Hickman
Assistant Dean, Administration and Finance, SHTM

Sean Hoffman
Chair: Technical Support
Senior Analytics Developer
Institutional Research, Planning & Effectiveness

Leonie Huddy
Chair: Academic Portfolio
Professor, Department of Political Science

Jon   Longtin
Chair: Research & Innovation
Professor, Department of Mechanical Engineering

A.J. Nagaraj
Chair: Campus Cultural, Athletic & Facilities
AVP Advancement

Bradley Peterson
Associate Professor
School of Marine & Atmospheric Sciences

Peter   Santella
Chair: Technical Support
AVP Finance and Chief Budget Officer

Aaron   Sasson
Chair: Stony Brook Medicine
Professor of Surgery
Department of Oncology

Marianna   Savoca
AVP for Career Development
& Experiential Education

Michelle Singletary
Chair: Operations Alignment
Associate Director
Residential Programs

Van Sullivan
Chair: Campus Cultural, Athletic & Facilities
Executive Director
Faculty Student Association

David   Thanassi
Chair: Stony Brook Medicine
Department of Microbiology & Immunology

Roger Thompson
Director, Program for Writing and Rhetoric