Skip Navigation
Search

About D-TALE

The Distributed Teacher and Leader Education program (D-TALE) is Stony Brook University’s home for all programs that lead to New York State Certification for P-12 teaching and administration. Our faculty comprises nationally-known scholars, and professionals who have served full-careers as high school and middle school teachers and administrators. We offer teacher certification programs in English, Foreign Language, Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, and TESOL. We also offer programs that lead to certification for School Building and School District Leadership as well as School Business Leader.

Our education program at Stony Brook is unusually strong. Our program is “distributed” because we don’t house our students in a college of education; instead, those who become teachers at Stony Brook are students in the same courses and majors as their classmates going on to content careers. Science teacher candidates will study with scientists, English teacher candidates will study with writers, mathematics teachers will study with mathematicians. In every field, you will earn a solid background in the content of your discipline, so you’ll be an effective, confident teacher able to lead young minds in this competitive era. With the mentorship of our D-TALE faculty, you’ll learn to design engaging assignments, manage energetic classrooms, use evidence to improve your students’ learning, and help your school be a positive force in your students’ community.

Come join us to help shape the future!

 


 

D-TALE Administration

 

Craig Markson, EdD
Assistant Dean
School of Professional Development
Acting Director, Educational Leadership Program
(631) 632-7067
Craig.Markson@stonybrook.edu  
View Profile

Terry S. Earley, PhD
Director of Teacher Education Preparation Programs, Assessment and Accreditation
(631) 632-7616  
Terry.Earley@stonybrook.edu  
View Profile

Rachael Lee, MPS
Teacher Certification Officer
(631) 632-7055
Rachael.Lee@stonybrook.edu

Academic Program Directors

Charles G. Backfish, MA
Interim Program Director, Social Studies     
(631) 632-1093   
Charles.Backfish@stonybrook.edu

Lisa Berger, PhD  
Director of Mathematics Education and Associate Professor of Mathematics
(631) 632-8278  
lisa.berger@stonybrook.edu

Nicole Galante, PhD
Acting Director, English
(631) 632-7303
Nicole.Galante@stonybrook.edu

Sarah Jourdain, PhD
Foreign Language Education Programs Director
(631) 632-7440  
Sarah.Jourdain@stonybrook.edu

Linda Padwa, PhD
Associate Director for Science Education
(631) 632-7075
linda.padwa@stonybrook.edu  

Keith Sheppard, EdD
Director, Institute for STEM Education
(631) 632-2989
keith.sheppard@stonybrook.edu
 

Annette Shideler, EdD
Interim Director, TESOL
(631) 632-8003
annette.shideler@stonybrook.edu  

 


NCATE Logo D-TALE at Stony Brook University is accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), www.ncate.org. This accreditation covers initial teacher preparation programs and advanced educator preparation programs.

Login to Edit