Skip Navigation

Nomrota Majumder '21
Summa Cum Laude
BS Biology
Minor in Professional Writing


Where are you originally from? 
I was born in Dhaka, Bangladesh, and grew up in Queens, New York.

How did you hear about Stony Brook University? 
I first heard about Stony Brook University from the upperclassmen of my high school. I went to a very science-focused school where much of the student body pursued an education in healthcare, and learning about the many advantages of going to Stony Brook as a pre-med from the alum compelled me to apply.


Why Stony Brook? 
I chose Stony Brook because it was the perfect fit for me. Conducting laboratory research since 10th grade, I knew I could continue my journey at Stony Brook because the opportunities for research here are truly endless. In addition, I knew its top tier STEM education would support my interests, academic growth, and future ambitions perfectly. I also knew I wanted a vibrant campus life during my undergraduate years, and fell in love with Stony Brook’s community after a tour. Finally, I’m a very family-oriented person, and I wanted to stay close to my family while still having some freedom away from home, and a simple LIRR ride from Queens allowed me to come home most weekends to visit them while spending my weekdays at school.  

On her major and minor: 
I am a Biology major and Professional Writing Minor on the Pre-medical track. I knew I wanted to pursue medicine from a young age because I had early exposure to healthcare. Ever since my sister was diagnosed with cerebral palsy, I knew I wanted to gain the knowledge and skills to be able to treat others like her as a physician. Caregiving for her on a day-to-day basis augmented my desire to achieve this goal, and continues to motivate me to this day. When I took AP Biology in high school, I became fascinated with the complexities of the brain, and realized that I couldn’t see myself studying anything else but the biology of the human body, leading me to pursue Biology as my major. 

My love for writing began with an SAT Writing class. While learning about grammar and the English language, I realized how crucial writing effectively is in every walk of life. My teacher would drill into our minds that “how you write is who you are,” and this is something that has stuck with me ever since. After taking WRT 102 here, I learned that I truly did have a passion for technical writing, and I wanted to pursue it on a deeper level in college, which inspired me to obtain a minor in Professional Writing. 

Favorite class:
One of my favorite classes here was Playwriting (WRT 302) by professor Kenneth Weitzman. As a biology major and professional writing minor, reading, writing, and performing plays was completely out of my comfort zone, but I learned to dig past professional writing and be creative in my writing. I learned so much about the playwriting process, and making characters with specific motivations and goals come to life. I was taking this class during my MCAT semester, and hearing my peers’ plays as well as sharing my own was definitely the highlight of my week.

Interests and accomplishments: 
My interests include renal research, community service, and mentoring. I have been conducting nephrology research at the Veterans Affairs Medical Center in Northport for two years, and I recently received a co-first author publication in Frontiers Physiology journal in February for my lab’s research on chronic fluid shear stress and sodium transport in the kidney. I’m involved in the histological component of our studies, and focus on staining mouse kidney tissue with antibodies to localize proteins in tissue samples. I’ve also been conducting archival research for the past year under the guidance of Dr. Laura Lisabeth for my Honors College senior thesis project. I assessed the evolution of the patient record genre by analyzing medical records from the 17th century to the present, and researched how changes in these documents reflected changes in workplace communication in healthcare. I presented this research at the virtual honors college symposium. I’m also heavily interested in service and have spent my time helping various healthcare facilities in diverse communities of New York City including Mount Sinai Hospital. Currently, I’m an English Language Learners volunteer, in which I tutor and mentor two students (Gavin and Christine) in reading, writing and math.

Greatest achievement:
Learning to be resilient and persevering in my research, and eventually sharing my findings with my field with a publication as mentioned above. 

Awards & Accolades:
Graduation with Honors College Distinction

Graduation with Summa Cum Laude

Dean’s List every semester

Plans for post-graduation: 
I plan to take a gap year before matriculating into medical school during which I will continue my research, and work as a medical scribe in urgent care facilities, helping to provide those without proper access to healthcare the care they need.

Career aspirations: 
I plan to become a physician, open a clinic, and serve immigrant populations.

Clubs and organizations: 
I was a managing editor (for two years) and a copy editor (for two years) of the Stony Brook Young Investigators Review, which is the premier undergraduate science research journal on campus that strives to spread scientific literacy to the lay population and make science more accessible for the Long Island community and beyond. I was also a member (2.5 years) and PR chair (1 semester) of the Phi Delta Epsilon NYMu chapter of Stony Brook, an international medical fraternity. Off campus, I’m a tutor for EConnected, a non-for profit-organization that provides extra help and support to children of immigrant communities while providing financial relief to their parents. 

Advice for future Seawolves?
Make sure to speak with upperclassmen and reach out for help when you can. The transition to college can be an overwhelming one, but our community is made up of people who are willing to help you every step of the way, especially if they are of a similar track/major as you. I know it can be daunting to talk to people when you’re new, but trust me, we’ve all been in that position, and the person you ask for help will be excited to guide you. I am so grateful for the mentorship that has gotten me to where I am today, and I’m so happy to have paid it forward in any way that I could. 

Favorite memory:
My favorite memory was my professional fraternity’s formal event. I loved dancing and spending time with my brothers and sisters who are undoubtedly my life-long friends. 

I feel grateful that even amidst these tumultuous circumstances, we have the opportunity to have (close to) a normal graduation and can actually celebrate our accomplishments in person with family and friends!