Skip Navigation
Search

Undergraduate Major Department Advisors

Updated on 5/1/2019 

Complete information about academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin.   
The information below is also available  as a pdf on the Forms page.

Begin by typing your major or advisor name in the box below.

View all
  • Africana Studies Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema

    shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7473 Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Anthropology Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildebrand

    AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

  • Applied Mathematics & Statistics Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Esther Arkin

    esther.arkin@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8370, Room P-139B, Math Tower

    Undergraduate  Program Coordinator:   Ms. Cathy Arrighetta

    cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Arrighetta to schedule an appointment.

  • Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Lorena Salcedo-Watson 

    lorena.salcedo-watson@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7250, Room 2210, Staller Center

  • Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nerissa Balce-Cortes

    marianerissa.balce.cortes@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7690, Room 1115, Humanities Bldg.

  • Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Lattimer

    james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Diafera 

    diane.diafera@stonybrook.edu 

  • Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Brian Colle

    brian.colle@stonybrook.edu

    632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy  Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-5011, Melville Library

  • Biochemistry Major

    To declare a Biochemistry major, visit the Division of Undegraduate Biological Sciences office,

    Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL, 631-632-8530) and fill out a major declaration form.

    Dr. Bernadette Holdener   bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for all Biochemistry majors with drop-in advising:  Mon. 10:00 am-12:00 pm;

    Wed. 1:00-3:00 pm and Fri. 10:00-11:00 am.

    (631) 632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

    Dr. Kira Schultheiss   kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu 

    Division of Undergraduate Biology advises both BCH and BIO majors.

    to schedule  an appointment, go to: https://www.stonybrook.edu/navigate

    (631) 632-8530, Room 107, Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL

    Dr. Benjamin Martin  benjamin.martin@stonybrook.edu  

    Advisor for BCH majors working on Honors Thesis

    (631) 632-1531, Room 480, Life Sciences Bldg.

    Dr. Neta Dean  neta.dean@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for BCH majors with questions related to graduate school

    (631) 632-9309, Room 310, Life Sciences Bldg.

    Dr. Ed Luk    ed.luk@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for BCH majors with questions related to finding research opportunities

    (631) 632-1903, Room 410, Life Sciences Bldg. 

  • Biology Major and Minor

    Note: Biochemistry  major and Biology major or minor declaration does not require an appointment.

    Staff Advisor: Dr. Kira Schultheiss

    kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8543, advising by appointment only, schedule online at stonybrook.edu/ssccampus

    Program Secretary:  Ms. Lynette Giordano

    lynette.giordano@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8530,Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL Bldg.

    Can be contacted for Biology course registration  issues, Commencement information.

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen 

    john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

  • Biomedical Engineering Major and Bioengineering Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Wei Yin

    BME_UG_Program@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8371, Room 102 Bioengineering Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Jessica Kuhn 

    BME_UG_program@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Kuhn to schedule an appointment

  • Business Management Major

    Undergraduate Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera

    rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall

    Schedule an appointment  at   stonybrook.edu/ssccampus

  • Chemical and Molecular Engineering Major

    Undergraduate Program Directors: Dr. Tadanori Koga 

    tadanori.koga@stonybrook.edu 

    (631) 632-4986, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Elizabeth McRae  

    cme_undergradadvising@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. McRae to schedule an appointment. 

  • Chemistry Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisors: Dr. Dale Drueckhammer & Faculty

    To schedule an appointment, go to:

    ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu

  • Civil Engineering Major

    Chair & Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Rigoberto Burgueno

    civil_engineering @stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8777, Room 2434. Computer Science Bldg.

    Assistant to the Chairperson:  Ms. Erin Giuliano 

    civil_engineering@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Giuliano to schedule an appointment

  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Jeannie Guglielmo 

    jeannie.guglielmo@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-3046, Room 443, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.

    Information sessions: every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 12:00 pm.

  • Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht

    katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy  Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Computer Engineering Major

    See Electrical and Computer Engineering 

  • Computer Science Major and Minor

    Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.  (631) 632-8470

    Undergraduate Program Director:  Dr. Kevin McDonald

    csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu  

    Advisor,  last names A-H

    Dr. Paul Fodor  csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu   

    Advisor, last names I-Q

    Dr. Richard McKenna  csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu   

    Advisor, last names:  R-Z

  • Creative  Writing and Literature Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Julie Sheehan 

      julie.sheehan@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1133, Room N3017, Melville Library

     Minor Advisor: Prof. Megan McAndrew 

    megan.mcandrew@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1133, N3017, Melville Library

  • Earth and Space Sciences Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil

    hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

  • Economics Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Alexis Anagnostopoulos

    ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7526, Room S-621, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg



    Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Victoria Judd

    ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7540, Room S-601, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Ecosystems and Human Impact Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sharon Pochron 

    sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-5369, Room W-0513, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Electrical and Computer Engineering Major and ESE Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ridha Kamoua

    ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu



    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Cathryn Mooney

    cathryn.mooney@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8415, Room 267 Light Engineering Bldg.

    Contact Ms. Mooney to schedule an appointment.

  • Engineering Chemistry Major

    See Chemistry Major and Minor

  • Engineering Science Major

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Gary Halada

    gary.halada@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-4986, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.



    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Elizabeth McRae

    esg_undergradadvising@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. McRae  to schedule an appointment

  • English Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Douglas Pfeiffer

    douglas.pfeiffer@stonybrook.edu

    Room 1098, Humanities Bldg.



    Staff Advisor: Ms. Margaret Hanley

    margaret.hanley@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7400, Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

  • Environmental Design, Policy & Planning Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Donovan Finn

    donovan.finn@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Nancy Black 

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511,  Melville Library

  • Environmental Humanities Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Taylor

    david.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Environmental Studies Major and Minor

    See Marine Vertebrate Biology

  •  French Language and Literature Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sarah Jourdain

    sarah.jourdain@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7440, Room 2128, Humanities Bldg.

  • Geology Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Gregory Henkes

    https://gregoryhenkes.youcanbook.me

    (631) 632-2905, Room 330, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

  • Health Science Major

    Major Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson

    traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu

    Must attend information session to declare the major.  E-mail Ms. Jennifer Jimenez

    at jennifer.jimenez.1@stonybrook.edu to sign up for an information session.

  • History Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Donna Rilling

    donna.rilling@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7500, Room S-311, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet

    susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Human Evolutionary Biology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andreas Koenig

    humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1513, Room N-517, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Melissa J. Cohen  melissa.j.cohen@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8604, Room 640, Life Sciences Bldg.

  • Information Systems Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ahmad Esmaili

    esmaili@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.



  • Italian Studies Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Irene Marchegiani

    irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu

    632-7440, Room 1074, Humanities Bldg.

  • Journalism Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Irene Virag

    irene.virag@stonybrook.edu

    632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library



    Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson

    maureen.p.robinson@stonybrook.edu

    632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

  • Linguistics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Marie Huffman

    marie.huffman@stonybrook.e

    (631) 632-1388, Room N-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Marine Science Major and Minor

    Marine Vertebrate Biology Major 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza

    kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7309, Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus 

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Mathematics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Alexader Kirillov 

    upd@math.sunysb.edu

    (631) 632-8289, Room P-143, Math Bldg.

  • Mechanical Engineering Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. David Hwang

    (631) 632-8310, Room 113,  Light Engineering Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms.  Amanda Flanagan 

    mechanicalengineeringundergrad@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Flanagan to schedule an appointment

  • Multidisciplinary Studies Major

    In order to declare the MTD major, students must first attend an  info session.  Only declared MTD majorswill be able to schedule an appointment with an MTD major advisor on  SSC Campus or the  Guide app.  

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone

    www.stonybrook.edu/mtd

    (631) 632-7080, Room E-3310, Melville Library

  • Music Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deborah Heckert

    deborah.heckert@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7330, Room 3360, Staller Center Bldg.

  • Nursing Baccalaureate Program

    Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola

    (631) 444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center

    Students are encouraged to attend an information session

    http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession

  • Philosophy Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvey Cormier

    harvey.cormier@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7570, Room 213, Harriman Hall

  • Physics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy

    robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia

    diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu

    632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

  • Political Science Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Ryan

    john.ryan@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7640, Room N-711, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  •  Polysomnographic Technology Program

    Faculty Advisor:  Prof. Russell Rozensky

    russell.rozensky@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-6654, Room 449, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr.

  • Psychology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hoi-Chung Leung

    psy_ugpd@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7820, Room B-314, Psychology B Bldg.

    Undergraduate Academic Advisor:  Ms. Carol Carlson

    carol.carlson@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7812, Room B-109, Psychology B Bldg.

    Undergraduate Coordinator: Ms. Donna Hildenbrand

    donna.hildenbrand@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7802, Room B-117, Psychology B Bldg.

  • Respiratory Care Program

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis

    james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.

  • Social Welfare Baccalaureate

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez

    suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center

  • Sociology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone

    catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman

    sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.

    (631) 632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Paul Firbas

    paul.firbas@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-6935, Room 1055, Humanities Bldg.

  • Sustainability Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy

    arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Technological Systems Management Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Kevin Moriarty

    kevin.moriarty@stonybrook.edu

    Assistant to the Chairperson , Undergraduate Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko

    rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1057, Room 1425, Old Computer Science Bldg.

    Contact Ms. Reagan-Redko to schedule an appointment

  • Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nancy Hiemstra

    nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7430, Room 2058a, Humanities Bldg.