Skip Navigation
Search

Undergraduate Major Department Advisors

Updated on 5/1/2019 

Complete information about academic majors and minors can be found in the Online Bulletin.   
The information below is also available  as a pdf on the Forms page.

Begin by typing your major or advisor name in the box below.

View all
  • Africana Studies Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Shimelis Gulema

    shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7470,  Room S-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Anthropology Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Elisabeth Hildebrand

    AnthropologyDUS@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7163, Room N-521, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

  • Applied Mathematics & Statistics Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Esther Arkin

    esther.arkin@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8370, Room P-139B, Math Tower

    Undergraduate  Program Coordinator:   Ms. Cathy Arrighetta

    cathy.arrighetta@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Arrighetta to schedule an appointment.

  • Art History & Studio Art Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Lorena Salcedo-Watson 

    lorena.salcedo-watson@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7250, Room 2210, Staller Center

  • Asian & Asian American Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Eriko Sato

    eriko.sato@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9477, Room 1123, Humanities Bldg.

  • Astronomy & Planetary Sciences Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. James Lattimer

    james.lattimer@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8227, Room 449, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Assistant: Ms. Diane Diafera 

    diane.diafera@stonybrook.edu 

  • Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences Major

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Brian Colle

    brian.colle@stonybrook.edu

    632-3174, Room 125, Endeavour Hall

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy  Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-5011, Melville Library

  • Biochemistry Major

    To declare a Biochemistry major, visit the Division of Undegraduate Biological Sciences office,

    Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL, 631-632-8530) and fill out a major declaration form.

    Dr. Bernadette Holdener   bernadette.holdener@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for all Biochemistry majors with drop-in advising:  TBA

    (631) 632-8292, Room 346, Center for Molecular Medicine Bldg.

    Dr. Kira Schultheiss   kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu 

    Division of Undergraduate Biology advises both BCH and BIO majors.

    to schedule  an appointment, go to: https://www.stonybrook.edu/navigate

    (631) 632-8530, Room 107, Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL

    Dr. Benjamin Martin  benjamin.martin@stonybrook.edu  

    Advisor for BCH majors working on Honors Thesis

    (631) 632-1531, Room 480, Life Sciences Bldg.

    Dr. Neta Dean  neta.dean@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for BCH majors with questions related to graduate school

    (631) 632-9309, Room 310, Life Sciences Bldg.

    Dr. Ed Luk    ed.luk@stonybrook.edu

    Advisor for BCH majors with questions related to finding research opportunities

    (631) 632-1903, Room 410, Life Sciences Bldg. 

  • Biology Major and Minor

    Note: Biochemistry  major and Biology major or minor declaration does not require an appointment.

    Staff Advisor:  Dr. Kira Schultheiss

    kira.schultheiss@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8543, advising by appointment only, schedule online at stonybrook.edu/commcms/navigate  

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Rachel Ulysse, M.S.

    (631) 632-8571, advising by appointment only, schedule online at: https://www.stonybrook.edu/commcms/navigate

    Program Secretary:  Ms. Lynette Giordano

    lynette.giordano@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8530,Room 110 Ctr. for Molecular Medicine/BLL Bldg.

    Can be contacted for Biology course registration  issues, Commencement information.

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Peter Gergen 

    john.peter.gergen@stonybrook.edu

  • Biomedical Engineering Major 

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Wei Yin

    BME_UG_Program@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8371, Room 102 Bioengineering Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Jessica Kuhn 

    BME_UG_program@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Kuhn to schedule an appointment

  • Business Management Major

    Undergraduate Advisor: Ms. Rita Barbera

    rita.barbera@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7438, Room 109, Harriman Hall

    Schedule an appointment  at   stonybrook.edu/navigate

  • Chemical and Molecular Engineering Major

    Undergraduate Program Directors: Dr. Tadanori Koga 

    tadanori.koga@stonybrook.edu 

    (631) 632-4986, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

  • Chemistry Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisors: Dr. Dale Drueckhammer & Faculty

    To schedule an appointment, go to:

    ug_chemistry_advisors@stonybrook.edu

  • Civil Engineering Major

    Chair & Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Rigoberto Burgueno

    civil_engineering @stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8777, Room 2434. Computer Science Bldg.

    Assistant to the Chairperson:  Ms. Erin Giuliano 

    civil_engineering@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Giuliano to schedule an appointment

  • Clinical Laboratory Sciences

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Jeannie Guglielmo 

    jeannie.guglielmo@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-3046, Room 443, Level 2, Health Sciences Center.

    Information sessions: every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 12:00 pm.

  • Coastal Environmental Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Katherine Aubrecht

    katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7901, Room 407, Chemistry Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy  Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Computer Engineering Major

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ridha Kamoua

    ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu



    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Cathryn Mooney

    cathryn.mooney@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8415, Room 267 Light Engineering Bldg.

    Contact Ms. Mooney to schedule an appointment.

  • Computer Science Major and Minor

    Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.  (631) 632-8470

    Undergraduate Program Director:  Dr. Kevin McDonald

    csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu  

    Dr. Paul Fodor  csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu   

    Dr. Richard McKenna  csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu   

    Undergraduate Program Coordinators:  Ms. Sara Gergen and Ms. Molly Kelly

    Contact Ms. Gergen or Ms. Holt  to schedule an appointment.

    csugcomm@cs.stonybrook.edu

  • Creative  Writing Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Julie Sheehan 

      julie.sheehan@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1133, Room N3017, Melville Library

     Minor Advisor: Prof. Megan McAndrew 

    megan.mcandrew@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1133, N3017, Melville Library

  • Earth and Space Sciences Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hanna Nekvasil

    hanna.nekvasil@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8201, Room 234, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.

  • Economics Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Alexis Anagnostopoulos

    ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7526, Room S-621, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg



    Undergraduate Program Coordinator: Ms. Victoria Judd

    ugeconomics@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7540, Room S-601, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Ecosystems and Human Impact Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sharon Pochron 

    sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-5369, Room W-0513, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Electrical Engineering Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ridha Kamoua

    ridha.kamoua@stonybrook.edu

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms. Cathryn Mooney

    cathryn.mooney@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8415, Room 267 Light Engineering Bldg.

    Contact Ms. Mooney to schedule an appointment.

  • Engineering Chemistry Major

    See Chemistry Major and Minor

  • Engineering Science Major

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Gary Halada

    gary.halada@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-4986, Room 314, Engineering Bldg.

  • English Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director:  Prof. Kenneth Weitzman

    kenneth.weitzman@stonybrook.edu

    Room 1095, Humanities Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Advisor:  Mr. Billy Martin

    william.martin@stonybrook.edu

    Room 2096, Humanities Bldg.

  • Environmental Design, Policy & Planning Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Donovan Finn

    donovan.finn@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Nancy Black 

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511,  Melville Library

  • Environmental Humanities Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. David Taylor

    david.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Environmental Studies Major and Minor

    See Marine Vertebrate Biology

  •  French Language and Literature Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Franck Dalamas

    franck.dalamas@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7440, Room 2128, Humanities Bldg.

  • Geology Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Gregory Henkes

    https://gregoryhenkes.youcanbook.me

    (631) 632-2905, Room 330, Earth & Space Sciences Bldg.                          

  • Globalization Studies and International Relations Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor:  Dr. Andrea Fedi  andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu

    Email Dr. Fedi to schedule a Zoom appointment

    Room 1148, Humanities Bldg.

  • Health Science Major

    Major Advisor: Ms.Traci Thompson

    traci.thompson@stonybrook.edu

    Must attend a mandatory online video workshop and complete a post-survey.  E-mail Ms. Jennifer Jimenez

    at jennifer.jimenez.1@stonybrook.edu for the link to the on-line Health Science workshop.

  • History Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Eric Zolov

    eric.zolov@stonybrook.edu

    Room S-311, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg. 

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Susan Grumet

    susan.grumet@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7480, Room S-307, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Human Evolutionary Biology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Andreas Koenig

    humanevolbiology@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1513, Room N-517, Social and Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Melissa J. Cohen  melissa.j.cohen@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8604, Room 640, Life Sciences Bldg.

  • Information Systems Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Ahmad Esmaili

    csugcomm@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8470, Room 101, New Computer Science Bldg.



  • Italian Studies Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Irene Marchegiani

    irene.marchegiani@stonybrook.edu

    632-7440, Room 1074, Humanities Bldg.

  • Journalism Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. Irene Virag

    irene.virag@stonybrook.edu

    632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library



    Staff Advisor: Maureen Robinson

    maureen.p.robinson@stonybrook.edu

    632-7403, Room N-4004, Melville Library

  • Linguistics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Marie Huffman

    marie.huffman@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7774, Room N-251, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Marine Science Major and Minor

    Marine Vertebrate Biology Major 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Kamazima Lwiza

    kamazima.lwiza@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7309, Room 169, Endeavor Hall, South Campus 

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Mathematics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Scott Sutherland

    upd@math.sunysb.edu

    (631) 632-8247, Room P-143, Math Bldg.

  • Mechanical Engineering Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. David Hwang

    (631) 632-8310, Room 113,  Light Engineering Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Coordinator:  Ms.  Amanda Flanagan 

    mechanicalengineeringundergrad@stonybrook.edu

    Contact Ms. Flanagan to schedule an appointment

  • Multidisciplinary Studies Major

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Darcy Lonsdale

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone

    Please schedule an appointment via Navigate (stonybrook.edu/navigate)

     Visit the website for more information at   www.stonybrook.edu/mtd

  • Music Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Deborah Heckert

    deborah.heckert@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7330, Room 3360, Staller Center Bldg.

  • Nursing Baccalaureate Program

    Program Advisor: Ms. Jennifer Coppola

    (631) 444-3200, Room 215, Level 2, Health Sciences Center

    Students are encouraged to attend an information session

    http://nursing.stonybrookmedicine.edu/infoSession

  • Philosophy Major and Minor 

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Harvey Cormier

    harvey.cormier@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7570, Room 213, Harriman Hall

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Lisa-Beth Platania  lisa-beth.platania@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7580, Room 213, Harriman Hall

  • Physics Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Robert McCarthy

    robert.mccarthy@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-8758, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Diane Diaferia

    diane.diaferia@sunysb.edu

    632-8036, Room P-110, Physics Bldg.

  • Political Science Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. John Ryan

    john.ryan@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7640, Room N-711, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

    Undergraduate Program Director:  Ms. June Carter

    june.carter@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7688, Room S-705, Social & Behaviroal Sciences  Bldg.

  •  Polysomnographic Technology Program

    Faculty Advisor:  Prof. Russell Rozensky

    russell.rozensky@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-6654, Room 449, Level 2, Health Sciences Ctr.

  • Psychology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Hoi-Chung Leung

    psy_ugpd@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7820, Room B-314, Psychology B Bldg.

    Undergraduate Academic Advisor:  Ms. Carol Carlson

    Schedule an appointment at  stonybrook.edu/navigate

    (631) 632-7812, Room B-109, Psychology B Bldg.

    Undergraduate Coordinator: Ms. Donna Hildenbrand

    Schedule an appointment at  stonybrook.edu/navigate

    (631) 632-7802, Room B-117, Psychology B Bldg.

  • Respiratory Care Program

    Faculty Advisor: Prof. James Ganetis

    james.ganetis@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-3180, Room 414, Level 2 Health Sciences Ctr.

  • Social Welfare Baccalaureate

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Suzanne Velazquez

    suzanne.velazquez@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 444-6909, Room 093, Health Sciences Center

  • Sociology Major

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Catherine Marrone

    catherine.marrone@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-4883, Room S-429, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

    Staff Advisor: Ms. Sharon Worksman

    sharon.worksman@stonybrook.edu.

    (631) 632-7710, Room S-401, Social & Behavioral Sciences Bldg.

  • Spanish Languages and Literature Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Joseph Pierce

    joseph.pierce@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7461, Room 1055, Humanities Bldg.

  • Sustainability Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Arlene Cassidy

    arlene.cassidy@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-5362, Room W-0515, Melville Library Bldg.

    Staff Advisor:  Ms. Nancy Black

    nancy.black@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-9404, Room W-0511, Melville Library

  • Technological Systems Management Major and Minor

    Undergraduate Program Director: Dr. Kevin Moriarty

    kevin.moriarty@stonybrook.edu

    Assistant to the Chairperson , Undergraduate Advisor: Ms. Rita Reagan-Redko

    rita.reagan-redko@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-1057, Room 1425, Old Computer Science Bldg.

    Contact Ms. Reagan-Redko to schedule an appointment

  • Women's, Gender, and Sexuality Studies Major and Minor

    Faculty Advisor: Dr. Nancy Hiemstra

    nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu

    (631) 632-7607, Room 2058a, Humanities Bldg.