Skip Navigation
Search

Faculty

Kathleen Acker, EdD
Assistant Superintendent
EDL 571
kathleen.acker@stonybrook.edu

Sherry Alessandro, EdD
St. Lawrence University
Assistant Superintendent
EDL 501, 502, 572
sherry.alessandro@stonybrook.edu

Alan Baum, JD
Albany Law School
Executive Director of Human Resources & Secondary Curriculum, High School Principal
EDL 54
alan.baum@stonybrook.edu

Richard Bernato, EdD
Dowling College
Assistant Superintendent, Principal, Director of Humanities, Director of Pupil Personnel Services
Books:
  Planning by Futuring, Futuring as Planning; Using Your Futures Mindset to Develop Social Media Policy; Futures-Based Change Leadership; A Formula for Sustained Change Capacity; Leadership for a Global Economy (Chapter/Author); A Pathway to Sustainable Freedom.
Articles:  Aligning the Tuning Forks: Between Regional Educational Agencies and School-Based Reform Teams; Training Data Teams to Improve Instruction: Flattening the Hierarchy; A Study of High Involvement Behavior Among Shared Decision-Making Teams in Long Island Elementary Blue Ribbon and Non-Blue Ribbon Schools
EDL 501, 502, 503, 515
richard.bernato@stonybrook.edu

Kenneth Bossert, EdD
Dowling College
Superintendent
EDL 515, 528, 555
kenneth.bossert@stonybrook.edu

Paul Casciano, EdD
New York University
Superintendent, Deputy Superintendent, Assistant Superintendent, Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 515, 528
paul.casciano@stonybrook.edu

Michael Catapano, EdD
Dowling College
Principal, Assistant Principal, Department Chair
EDL 503, 541, 555
michael.catapano.2@stonybrook.edu

Joseph Tanen Centamore, EdD
Dowling College
Deputy Superintendent
EDL 501, 502, 515, 555
joseph.centamore@stonybrook.edu

Frank Chiachiere, PhD
New York University
Assistant Principal, Trustee, Valley Stream UFSD 13 Board of Education
EDL 595
frank.chiachiere@stonybrook.edu

Rita Chiachiere, MA
Hunter College
Assistant Principal
EDL 501, 502, 503, 541, 585/6
rita.chiachiere@stonybrook.edu

William Clark, EdD
Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent, Principal, Director
Articles:  Teachers' Attitudes Toward Parent Involvement
EDL 501, 502, 595
william.clark@stonybrook.edu

Lars Clemensen, MA
Seton Hall University
Superintendent
EDL 501, 502, 528, 572
lars.clemensen@stonybrook.edu

Kristine Cucinello
Advanced Graduate Certificate in Educational Leadership, Stony Brook University
Executive Director Mid East Suffolk Teacher Resource and Computer Training Center
EDL 595
kristine.cucinello@stonybrook.edu

Peter Daly, EdD
St. John's University
Deputy Superintendent
EDL 571
peter.daly@stonybrook.edu

Monique Darrisaw-Akil, EdD
Seton Hall University
Assistant Superintendent
Articles
:  Credit Recovery May Be Flawed, But It's Fixable; Leveraging the Power of Partnerships
EDL 501, 502, 503, 555
monique.darrisaw-kil@stonybrook.edu

Anthony J. Davidson
MALS, Stony Brook University
Assistant Superintendent
EDL 503
anthony.davidson@stonybrook.edu

Vito D’Elia, EdD
St. John’s University
Superintendent, Assistant Superintendent
EDL 571
vito.delia@stonybrook.edu

Brian Doelger, EdD
Dowling College
Superintendent
Articles:
  A Case Study on the Ecology of Inclusive Education in the United States
EDL 515, 541, 595
brian.doelger@stonybrook.edu

Kenneth Forman, PhD
New York University
Assistant Director Educational Leadership Program
Assistant to the Superintendent, Principal, Director of Curriculum & Instruction
Books
:  Preparing for Educational Leadership, 3rd Edition; Diving into Data; Managing Social Science Research Through Publicly Accessible Data, Chapter 10; SBL/SDL Virtual TestPrep-Center for Teaching school-Wide Achievement Through and Learning in Community
Articles
: Leveraging School-Wide Achievement through the Use of Technology;  A Case Study in Online Teaching and Learning Excellence as a Result of COVID-19; Relationships Between Race, Poverty, English Language Learners, and College-Going Rates;  The Opt-Out Movement and New York State Assessment Results:  A Tale of Two Counties; Sending your Students to College?; School District Climate Variables that Make a Difference; Poverty, Attendance, and Teacher Evaluations:  Which Matters Most in Determining Urban High School Graduation Rates?;  The Efficacy of Teacher Evaluations in New York City:  A Tale of Two Districts; Is Effective the New Ineffective? A Crisis in the New York State Teacher Evaluation System; A Revisionists Look at Teacher Evaluation
EDL 501, 502, 503, 541, 555, 585/6, 595
kenneth.forman@stonybrook.edu

Roberta Gerold, EdD
Hofstra University
Superintendent
EDL 502, 515, 528
roberta.gerold@stonybrook.edu

Arnold B. Goldberg, EdD
George Washington University
Superintendent, Assistant Superintendent, Director, Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 501, 502, 503, 515, 528, 541, 572, 595
arnold.goldberg@stonybrook.edu

Kenneth Graham, EdD
Fordham University
Superintendent, Assistant Superintendent
EDL 515, 528, 572
kenneth.graham@stonybrook.edu

Steven C. Hauk
AGC, Stony Brook University
Principal
Articles
:  Changing School Culture through Technology
EDL 503, 541, 555
steven.hauk@stonybrook.edu

William G. Heidenreich, EdD
Columbia University
Superintendent
EDL 572
william.heidenreich@stonybrook.edu

David J. Helme
MALS, Bucknell University
Superintendent
EDL 501, 502, 503, 585/6, 595
david.helme@stonybrook.edu

Dan Holtzman, EdD
St. John’s University
Principal
Articles
:  Superintendent Longevity, TCM and Emotional Intelligence
EDL 541, 555
daniel.holtzman17@stonybrook.edu
 

Maureen Hull, EdD
St. John’s University
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction
EDL 555
Maureen.hull@stonybrook.edu

Katherine Ilovar, JD
CUNY Law School
Attorney
EDL 528
katherine.ilovar@stonybrook.edu

John Jangl, EdD
St. John's University
Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 572
john.jangl@stonybrook.edu

Stanley Kaminsky, MA
Educational Administration, New York University
Assistant Superintendent, Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 501, 502, 503, 541, 555, 585/6
stanley.kaminsky@stonybrook.edu

Stephen C. Lando, EdD
New York University
Assistant Superintendent, Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 501, 502, 503, 515, 528, 541
stephen.lando@stonybrook.edu

Maria Lopez, EdD
St. John Fischer College
Executive Director of School Technology Strategy, Superintendent
EDL 501, 502, 503, 571
maria.lopez@stonybrook.edu

Antoinette MacLeod, EdD
St. John’s University
Principal, Assistant Principal, Department Chair
Articles/Presentations
: Preparing and sustaining quality educational leaders ; Professional development at a distance: A mixed-method study exploring in-service teachers’ views on presence online; Preparing and sustaining quality educational leaders; Factors promoting student satisfaction and interactions in asynchronous teacher education courses; Teacher perceptions of online in-service staff development; Faculty perspectives of online learning.
EDL 503, 541, 555
antoinette.macleod@stonybrook.edu

Dennis R. Lauro, EdD
University of Virginia
Superintendent
EDL 571
dennis.lauro@stonybrook.edu

Emmanuel Lubin, JD
St. John’s University
Assistant Superintendent, Principal
EDL 515, 541, 555, 571, 572
emmanuel.lubin@stonybrook.edu

Craig Markson, EdD
Dowling College
EDL Program Director
Books:  Managing Social Science Research Through Publicly Accessible Data. Chapter 10.
Articles: Which Matters Most? Perceptions of Family Income or Parental Education on Academic Achievement; Holding the Test Maker Accountable: The ISLLC Standards and the New York State School Building Leadership Licensure Assessments; Continuing to Hold the Test Maker Accountable: The ISLLC Standards and the New York State School District Leadership Licensure Assessments; The Relationships Between K-12 School Leadership Candidates’ Teaching Experience, Age, Internship Usefulness Rating, and Performance on the New York State School Leadership Licensure Assessments; Is 'Effective' the New 'Ineffective'? A Crisis with the New York State Teacher Evaluation System; The Efficacy of Teacher Evaluations in New York City:  A Tale of Two Districts; Poverty, Attendance, and Teacher Evaluations:  Which Matters Most in Determining Urban High School Graduation Rates?; Sending your Students to College? School District Climate Variables that Make a Difference; The Efficacy of Online K-12 School Leadership Preparation Programs; The Opt-Out Movement and New York State Assessment Results: A Tale of Two Counties; The Relationships Between Race, Poverty, English Language Learners, and College-Going Rates; A case study in online teaching and learning excellence as a result of COVID-19; Leveraging School District-Wide Achievement through the Use of Technology
EDL 595
craig.markson@stonybrook.edu

Jordan McCaw, EdD
Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent
Articles
:  Special Education Administrative Supervision of Integrated Co-Teaching
EDL 503, 555, 595
jordan.mccaw@stonybrook.edu

Roseanne C. Melucci, EdD
Hofstra University
Superintendent
EDL 572
roseanne.melucci@stonybrook.edu

Terrance O’Connor, EdD
Fordham University
Principal, Former President Nassau County High School Principals Association, Former Director Section 8 Athletic Council, Former Director of Leadership Academy @ WS BOCES
Articles
: Poverty, Attendance, and Teacher Evaluation: Which Matters Most in Determining Urban High School Graduation Rates?
EDL 501, 502, 303, 528, 541
terrance.oconnor@stonybrook.edu

James E. Philemy, EdD
Hofstra University
Principal
Book
: Parents’ Perceptions: Understanding Parental Involvement Through the Lens of Community-Based Organizations
EDL 501, 502, 503, 541, 555
james.philemy@stonybrook.edu
 

Edward Price, PhD
Pennsylvania State University
Superintendent
EDL 515, 571, 572
edward.price@stonybrook.edu

Frank Ruggiero, MA
New York University
Assistant Superintendent
EDL 571
frank.ruggiero@stonybrook.edu

Charles Russo, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Superintendent
EDL 503, 515
charles.russo@stonybrook.edu

Cheryl Scheidet, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Principal, ELA Director
EDL 501, 502, 541, 555, 585/6
cheryl.scheidet@stonybrook.edu

Robert Scheidet, EdD
Nova Southeastern University
Internship Coordinator
Books: Educational Leadership Internship Workbook
EDL 565/6, 585/6
robert.scheidet@stonybrook.edu

Stephen Schneider, EdD
Hofstra University
Principal, Director of Adult & Vocational Literacy (BOCES)
EDL 501, 502
stephen.schneider@stonybrook.edu

Gary Schomburg, PhD
University of Dayton
Superintendent, Principal
EDL 571
gary.schomburg@stonybrook.edu

David Scott, JD
Touro School of Law
Attorney
Articles: Civic Engagement Through Law-Related Education and News Literacy
EDL 528
david.scott@stonybrook.edu

Richard A. Simon, MEd
Harvard University
Superintendent, Principal
EDL 501, 502, 503, 515, 528
richard.simon@stonybrook.edu

Jeffrey Soloff
6th Year Graduate Certificate in Educational Leadership, Brooklyn College
Principal
Books:  Preparing for Educational Leadership, 3 rd Edition
EDL 501, 502, 503, 541, 585/6
jeffrey.soloff@stonybrook.edu

Raymond Sommerstad, MA
Colgate University
Superintendent, Principal
EDL 541, 585/6
raymond.sommerstad@stonybrook.edu

Donald Sternberg, EdD
Columbia University
Principal
Books
:  Teacher Growth Trajectory: Pedagogical enhancement for improved student outcomes through feeding-back, feeding-forward and feeding-up. Purposeful observation practices for administrators ; The Principal: Traversing the High Wire with no Net Below. 79 Places Where the High Wire Can Be Greasy
Articles: Establishing a Teacher Growth Trajectory (TGT). Producing Great Outcomes with a Possible Dash of Professional Conflict; Feedback and feeding Up: Purposeful evidence-based observation practices that serve to improve teacher pedagogy – A guide for administrators; You Give a Little to Get a Lot; Moving the Process of Teacher Improvement Forward – Together; Creating Advantages for Disadvantaged Students; At the Center of the Common Core; Assessing Your Leadership Style: Are You The Bully?; Mirror, Mirror on the Wall, Was My Last Decision the Fairest of Them All? Building a Reflective Practice as a Professional Development Strategy to Support Administrative Decision Making; Dancing with the Teachers’ Union President; Instructional Leader; Zero Tolerance for Zero Tolerance Policies.
EDL 541, 555, 585/6
donald.sternberg@stonybrook.edu

Evelyn Terrell, MA
Queens College
Principal, Leadership Coach, Mentor
EDL 585/6
evelyn.terrelll@stonybrook.edu

Robert Tymann, EdD
Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum & Instruction, Principal, Assistant Principal
EDL 501, 502, 541
robert.tyman@stonybrook.edu

Kristen Turnow, EdD
Dowling College
Director of Guidance
EDL 555, 572, 595
kristen.turnow@stonybrook.edu

Richard Walter, PhD
New York University
Assistant Superintendent
EDL: 503, 515, 528, 572
richard.walter@stonybrook.edu

Wafa Deeb-Westervelt, EdD
Hofstra University
Assistant Superintendent, Director of Literacy, Director of Research
Books
:  Diving into Data, Data Talk: Creating Teacher and Administrator Partnerships around Data
Articles
:  An Uncommon Approach to the Common Core Standards; The Effects of an After-School Academic Intervention Services Math Program on the Grade Four NYS Math Assessment; Toward Praxis of Data-Driven Decision Making for Classroom Teachers; The Effects of an After-School Academic Intervention Services Math Program on the Grade Four NYS Math Assessment;  Composing a New Tune to the Common Core Standards; Composing a new Tune to the Common Core Learning Standards:  An Example for Technical Subjects
EDL 501, 502, 503, 515
wafa.deeb-westervelt@stonybrook.edu