Skip Navigation


State University of New York (SUNY)
SUNY is the nation's largest comprehensive system of public higher education, offering programs at 64 geographically dispersed campuses. Key offices and bodies include the Office of the Chancellor, the Board of Trustees, the University Faculty Senate, and the Student Assembly.

Stony Brook Council
The Stony Brook Council serves as an oversight and advisory body to the campus and to Stony Brook’s president and senior officers. In accordance with New York State Education Law, The Council comprises ten members; nine who are appointed to seven-year terms by the governor of the State of New York, and one student member elected in alternating years from among the campus’ undergraduate and graduate students.

University Council
Comprised of the Deans, Vice Presidents, and University Senate President, the University Council was created to ensure that senior academic leaders and senior administrators communicate and have up-to-date information on key issues facing the University. It serves as a key body in the formation, integration, and implementation of the strategic plan.

University Senate
The University Senate represents the entire faculty, staff and student body in matters which affect the entire campus. It is composed of Senators who are elected or appointed by the other entities on campus. It meets once a month during the academic year. It is advisory to the Stony Brook University President and Provost in most matters but has specific independent decision-making functions related to governance and a number of other academic issues. The Standing Committees of the University Senate are composed of faculty, staff and students who are also elected or appointed by the other entities.