Skip Navigation
Search

Current PhD Students

We are proud of our graduate students at Stony Brook. For a list of students on the job market, please check our  Hire a Stony Brook PhD page.

    Daniella Alva

    Daniella Alva

    Daniella's research interests include economic games, the relationship between income inequality and redistribution, and cooperation.

    daniella.alva@stonybrook.edu

     

    Harry Applestein

    Harry Applestein

    Harry studies political behavior, largely within the United States. He is currently focused on elections and campaigns, specifically how voters respond to and evaluate various forms of communications and appeals from candidates.

    harry.applestein@stonybrook.edu

     

    Brandon Bennes

    Brandon Bennes

    Brandon's research interests include political economy, collective action, and incentivized experimental methods with a focus on public goods.

    brandon.bennes@stonybrook.edu

     

    Asya Bülbül

    Asya Bülbül

    Asya's research interests include comparative political behavior and political psychology.

    asya.bulbul@stonybrook.edu

     

    Kirsten Campbell

    Kirsten Campbell

    Kristen is interested in American politics. 

    Kirsten.Campbell@stonybrook.edu

     

    Benjamin Carter

    Benjamin Carter

    Ben uses incentivized economic experiments along with other quantitative methods to study how the public think and vote about health insurance, taxation, and social spending.

    Benjamin.Carter@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Justin Dollman

    Justin Dollman

    Justin researches public opinion on immigration and trade, the urban-rural divide in ideology, and political epistemology. He’s also interested in machine and statistical learning and maintains a YouTube channel dedicated to data analysis.

    justin.dollman@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Romeo Gray

    Romeo Gray

    Romeo's interests include American politics and political psychology

    romeo.gray@stonybrook.edu

     

    Pei-Hsun Hsieh

    Pei-Hsun Hsieh

    Pei-Hsun's research interests center around behavioral political economy, including how social preferences and beliefs play roles in cooperation and redistributive policies. He uses a variety of methods, including lab experiments, agent-based modeling, and machine learning.

    pei-hsun.hsieh@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Nicole Huffman

    Nicole Huffman

    Nicole's research interests are in group identities, political attitudes, information processing, and elections.

    nicole.huffman@stonybrook.edu

     

    Michelle Io-Low

    Michelle Io-Low

    Michelle's   research interests centers around public opinion and political behavior. Much of her work centers around understanding how people form opinions related to economic inequality. She is  studying how political ideology, political emotions, and political identities affect beliefs about inequality and redistribution, and the relevant political behaviors.

    Michelle.Io-Low@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Samuel Jens

    Samuel Jens

    Sam's research interests include legislative behavior, American politics, and political psychology. His dissertation examines how traits of elected officials influence legislative behavior.

    samuel.jens@stonybrook.edu

     

    Shawn Kim

    Shawn Kim

    Broadly, Shawn's research interests center around political communication, public opinion, and political psychology. The primary focus is on how group-level norm enforcement, among individuals with shared identity, explains the process through which they end up with similar issue stances.

    suhwan.kim.1@stonybrook.edu

     

    Jacob Martin

    Jacob Martin

    Jacob studies political behavior and political psychology in the United States, focusing on political identities, group behavior, and national consciousness. Additional research interests include political socialization, solutions for politically marginalized voices, and representation.

    Jacob.Allen.Martin@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Maggie McDonnell

    Maggie McDonnell

    Maggie’s research interests are in the field of political psychology, including the motivations and decision making processes of the mass electorate and political elites.

    maggie.mcdonnell@stonybrook.edu

     

    David "Drew" Mickolas

    David "Drew" Mickolas

    Drew's research focuses on political psychology.

    david.mickolas@stonybrook.edu

     

    Alecia Nepaul

    Alecia Nepaul

    Alecia's research focuses on people’s motivations for engaging with politics. She integrates political science and psychology to understand the factors driving people’s interest in politics and their choice of political action.

    Alecia.Nepaul@stonybrook.edu

     

    Veronica Oelerich

    Veronica Oelerich

    Veronica's research interests broadly fall under political psychology, behavioral political economy, and American politics, with particular interest in collective action.

    veronica.oelerich@stonybrook.edu

     

    Lauren Palladino

    Lauren Palladino

    Lauren's research interests include political psychology, communication, mass media, and the role of emotions in politics.

    lauren.palladino@stonybrook.edu

     

    Adam Panish

    Adam Panish

    Adam's research interests include ideology, cognitive ability and political sophistication, and evolutionary and biological theories of political behavior.

    adam.panish@stonybrook.edu

     

    Lee F. Paulson

    Lee F. Paulson

    Lee’s research interests include political communication, ideology, and political movements. They are also interested in issues in equitable and effective representation in American Politics, as well as the potential for endo- and extra-institutional political participation trends to indicate trust in government and in turn, democratic stability.

    lee.paulson@stonybrook.edu

     

    Joseph Sandor

    Joseph Sandor

    Joseph studies the effect of political misinformation on political behavior, emphasizing the role of political polarization in fostering the belief and spread of political misinformation.

    Joseph.Sandor@stonybrook.edu

     

    Payel Sen

    Payel Sen

    Payel's research interests include collective action, political behavior, interaction of politics and technological innovations, and impact of social vulnerability in post-disaster recovery. She specializes in mixed research methods.

    sen.payel@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Joshua Shumate

    Joshua Shumate

    Joshua's research interests consist of American politics, political psychology, and elections

    Joshua.Shumate@stonybrook.edu

     

    Victoria Smith

    Victoria Smith

    Tori's research interests include political psychology, voting behavior, and gender and politics.

    Victoria.l.Smith@stonybrook.edu

     

    Hillary Style

    Hillary Style

    Hillary's research interests include voting behavior, participation, and political information and communication as well as public opinion and survey research

    Hillary.Style@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Ignacio Urbina

    Ignacio Urbina

    Ignacio's research interests are in comparative political behavior, political economy, and quantitative methods.

    ignacio.urbina@stonybrook.edu

     

    Asha Venugopalan

    Asha Venugopalan

    Asha's research focuses on political psychology, political economy, comparative politics

    asha.venugopalan@stonybrook.edu

     

    Robert Vidigal

    Robert Vidigal

    Robert studies  how political communication influences behavior and political attitudes in public opinion, especially citizens’ ability and motivation to learn new information. In his research, he employs experimental survey designs, measurement theory, and network analysis.

    robert.vidigal@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Sonia Yanovsky

    Sonia Yanovsky

    Sonia's research focuses on political  psychology.

    sonia.yanovsky@stonybrook.edu

     

    Michael Yontz

    Michael Yontz

    Michael's research interests include political psychology, with a focus on political behavior, communication, racial attitudes and persuasion.  He also has a background in law, with interest in judicial behavior and legal decision making.

    Michael.Yontz@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More