Skip Navigation
Search

Current PhD Students

We are proud of our graduate students at Stony Brook. For a list of students on the job market, please check our  Hire a Stony Brook PhD page.

    Daniella Alva

    Daniella Alva

    Daniella's research interests include income inequality, public goods and cooperation, and preferences for redistributive policies.

    daniella.alva@stonybrook.edu

     

    Harry Applestein

    Harry Applestein

    Harry's research interests are American politics and political psychology

    harry.applestein@stonybrook.edu

     

    Brandon Bennes

    Brandon Bennes

    Brandon's research interest is focused on political economy 

    brandon.bennes@stonybrook.edu

     

    Kirsten Campbell

    Kirsten Campbell

    Kristen is interested in American politics. 

    Kirsten.Campbell@stonybrook.edu

     

    Benjamin Carter

    Benjamin Carter

    Ben uses incentivized economic experiments along with other quantitative methods to study how the public think and vote about health insurance, taxation, and social spending.

    Benjamin.Carter@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Justin Dollman

    Justin Dollman

    Justin is interested in the behavior of the highly politically engaged (both activists and slacktivists), the urban-rural divide in ideology, and the effect of ideological messaging on the mass public. Justin is also involved in machine learning.  

    justin.dollman@stonybrook.edu

     

    Matthew Duell

    Matthew Duell

    Matt's research focuses on political messaging, using twitter data to examine how candidates use social media

    matthew.duell@stonybrook.edu

     

    Romeo Gray

    Romeo Gray

    Romeo's interests include American politics and political psychology

    romeo.gray@stonybrook.edu

     

    Pei-Hsun Hsieh

    Pei-Hsun Hsieh

    Pei-Hsun's research interest centers on determining how a person’s beliefs, about how others will and should behave, shape decisions in different contexts like redistribution, cooperation, and political behaviors.   

    pei-hsun.hsieh@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Michelle Io-Low

    Michelle Io-Low

    Michelle's   research interests centers around public opinion and political behavior. Much of her work centers around understanding how people form opinions related to economic inequality. She is  studying how political ideology, political emotions, and political identities affect beliefs about inequality and redistribution, and the relevant political behaviors.

    Michelle.Io-Low@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Samuel Jens

    Samuel Jens

    Sam's research interests include American politics, political psychology, and legislative behavior.

    samuel.jens@stonybrook.edu

     

    Shawn Kim

    Shawn Kim

    Broadly, Shawn's research interests center around political communication, public opinion, and political psychology. The primary focus is on how group-level norm enforcement, among individuals with shared identity, explains the process through which they end up with similar issue stances.

    suhwan.kim.1@stonybrook.edu

     

    Yi-Ta Lu

    Yi-Ta Lu

    Yi-Ta's interests are focused on  collective actions, electoral competition, computational modeling, and lab experiments

    yi-ta.lu@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Jacob Martin

    Jacob Martin

    Jacob studies political behavior and political psychology in the United States, focusing on political identities, group behavior, and national consciousness. Additional research interests include political socialization, solutions for politically marginalized voices, and representation.

    Jacob.Allen.Martin@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Maggie McDonnell

    Maggie McDonnell

    Maggie’s research interests are in the field of political psychology, including the motivations and decision making processes of the mass electorate and political elites.

    maggie.mcdonnell@stonybrook.edu

     

    Alecia Nepaul

    Alecia Nepaul

    Alecia's research focuses on people’s motivations for engaging with politics. She integrates political science and psychology to understand the factors driving people’s interest in politics and their choice of political action.

    Alecia.Nepaul@stonybrook.edu

     

    Adam Panish

    Adam Panish

    Adam's research interest focuses around political  psychology, biology and politics, evolutionary psychology

    adam.panish@stonybrook.edu

     

    Joseph Sandor

    Joseph Sandor

    Joseph studies the effect of political misinformation on political behavior, emphasizing the role of political polarization in fostering the belief and spread of political misinformation.

    Joseph.Sandor@stonybrook.edu

     

    Payel Sen

    Payel Sen

    Payel's research interests include social media activism, various forms of political behavior, intersectionality of race and gender, and impact of social vulnerability in post-disaster recovery. She uses both quantitative and qualitative methods for her projects.

    sen.payel@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Elias Shammas

    Elias Shammas

     

    Elias.Shammas@stonybrook.edu

     

    Joshua Shumate

    Joshua Shumate

    Joshua's research interests consist of American politics, political psychology, and elections

    Joshua.Shumate@stonybrook.edu

     

    Patrick Smith

    Patrick Smith

    Patrick is interested in the intersection of ones' geographic location and its ability of informing political behavior. He also enjoys studying relevant questions surrounding public policy and elite-level behavior.

    Patrick.Smith.3@stonybrook.edu

     

    Victoria Smith

    Victoria Smith

    Tori's research interests include political psychology, voting behavior, and gender and politics.

    Victoria.l.Smith@stonybrook.edu

     

    Hillary Style

    Hillary Style

    Hillary's research interests include voting behavior, participation, and political information and communication as well as public opinion and survey research

    Hillary.Style@stonybrook.edu

     

    Asha Venugopalan

    Asha Venugopalan

    Asha's research focuses on political psychology, political economy, comparative politics

    asha.venugopalan@stonybrook.edu

     

    Robert Vidigal

    Robert Vidigal

    Robert studies  how political communication influences behavior and political attitudes in public opinion, especially citizens’ ability and motivation to learn new information. In his research, he employs experimental survey designs, measurement theory, and network analysis.

    robert.vidigal@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More

    Sonia Yanovsky

    Sonia Yanovsky

    Sonia's research focuses on political  psychology.

    sonia.yanovsky@stonybrook.edu

     

    Michael Yontz

    Michael Yontz

    Michael's research interests include political psychology, with a focus on political behavior, communication, racial attitudes and persuasion.  He also has a background in law, with interest in judicial behavior and legal decision making.

    Michael.Yontz@stonybrook.edu

     

    View More