Skip Navigation

2019 Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation Awards 

Two Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation (AMRF) Awards were given out on May 24, 2019 to the following students in the Electrical & Computer Engineering Department at Stony Brook University: Sean Fiola, a graduating undergraduate student, and Jian Jiang, a graduate student. The awardees were selected on the basis of excellence in high GPA achievement. Each award consisted of a certificate together with a check for $1000.

Armstrong Awardees

From left: Prof. Monica Bullalo, Prof. Ridha Kamoua (Undergraduate Program Director), Jian Jiang (Graduate Student Awardee), Prof. Jayant P. Parekh, Sean Fiola (Undergraduate Student Awardee), Prof. Petar Djuric (Department Chairman), and Prof. Harbans Dhadwal

The award ceremony was held during the ECE Department graduation open house, and the event had a large audience, including the parents and relatives of the awardees. The Department hosted the event, and provided breakfast and refreshments to the attendees.

The awards were given out by Prof. Jayant P. Parekh, Vice President of the AMRF, who made a presentation on the extraordinary and epoch-making inventions of Edwin Howard Armstrong (1890 – 1954) in the field of radio engineering which make him one of the greatest scientists and tinkerers of all time. The Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation Awards are an annual event at two universities—Columbia University and Stony Brook University—which are represented on the Board of Directors of the AMRF, and are recipients of funding from the Foundation that make the awards possible.

The mission of the AMRF is to celebrate and memorialize the genius and achievements of Armstrong whose grandest invention was the FM radio, which revolutionized the use of radio dominated until then by the AM radio. The FM radio, through its vastly superior immunity to noise, propelled the world of high-fidelity broadcasting to lofty heights.

For more information on the AMRF or Armstrong’s achievements, please visit the following links or references.


Web-site of the AMRF,

Lewis, Empire of the Air: The Men Who Made Radio (HarperCollins, 1991)