Skip Navigation

ECE Faculty Wins Innovator of the Year Award

Innovate LI announced the winners of its inaugural Innovator of the Year award that recognize Long Island’s best brightest ideas. The 2015 Innovators, chosen after a two-month nomination process, will be honored at an awards breakfast at Crest Hollow Country Club, Oct 21.

Among the winners in Science & Technology category is our own Matt Eisaman and his colleagues at Brookhaven National Laboratory. The winning work is reported in their paper, Nanotech Antireflection Surface Coatings, published in Nature Commuications. The new anti-reflective design for solar panels is based on nanostructured surface textures and is inspired by the structures of the eyes of moths, which are designed to keep light from reflecting back out.

Assistant Professor Matthew Eisaman joined ECE Department in the Fall of 2014 as a Joint Appointment between Stony Brook and Brookhaven National Laboratory.