Skip Navigation

Distinguished Professors

  • Distinguished Professors

    Benjamin Chu, Distinguished Professor Emeritus  1992

    Benjamin Chu

    B.S. Magna Cum Laude, St. Norbert College
    Ph.D. Cornell University, 1959
    Research Associate, Cornell University, 1958-1962

    Kenneth A. Dill, Distinguished Professor  2012

    Director of the Laufer Center for Physical & Quantitative Biology

    Kenneth Dill

    1978 Ph.D. Biology Department, UCSD, La Jolla
    1981 Postdoctoral Fellow, Chemistry, Stanford Univ. 

    Benjamin S. Hsiao, Distinguished Professor  2015

    Co-founding Director, Innovative Global Energy Solutions Center
    Director, Center for Advanced Technology in Integrated Electric Engery Systems

    Benjamin Hsiao

    1980 B.S. National Taiwan University
    1987 Ph.D. University of Connecticut
    1981 Postdoctoral Fellow, University of Massachusetts

    Iwao Ojima, Distinguished Professor  1995

    Director,  Institute of Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery

    Iwao Ojima

    B.S., 1968, The University of Tokyo
    M.S., 1970, The University of Tokyo
    Ph.D. 1973, The University of Tokyo 

    Kathlyn Parker, Distinguished Professor  2017

    Esther Takeuchi

    B.A., Northwestern University, 1966
    Ph.D., Stanford University, 1970
    Postdoctoral Fellow, Columbia University, 1971-1973   

    Nicole Sampson, Distinguished Professor  2018

    Nicole Sampson

    B.S., Harvey Mudd College, 1985
    Ph.D., Univeristy of  California, Berkeley, 1990
    American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellowship, Harvard University, 1991-1993

    Esther Takeuchi, Distinguished Professor  2009

    Esther Takeuchi

    B.A., University of Pennsylvania
    Ph.D., The Ohio State University
    Postdoctoral Research Associate, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill 
    Postdoctoral Research Associate, State University of New York at Buffalo

    Peter J. Tonge, Distinguished Professor  2018

    Peter Tonge

    B.Sc., University of Birmingham, England, 1982
    Ph.D., Univerisity of Birmingham, England, 1986
    SERC-NATO Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, National Research Council Canada, 1986-1988

    Stanislaus S. Wong, Distinguished Professor  2019

    Esther Takeuchi

    B.Sc., McGill University
    A.M., Harvard University, 1996
    Ph.D., Harvard University, 1999
    Postdoctoral fellow, Columbia University, 1999-2000

  • Distinguished Service Professors

    David M. Hanson, Research Distinguished Service Professor   2008

    David Hanson

    A.B. Dartmouth College, 1964
    Ph.D. California Institute of Technology, 1968
    NATO-NSF Fellow, Technical University Munich, 1968-1969
    Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship, 1972-1976
    NATO Senior Fellowship, 1975
    Synchrotron Ultraviolet Radiation Facility Fellowship at the National Bureau of Standards, 1980-1981
    Invited Scholar, Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki, Japan, 1985

  • Distinguished Teaching Professors

    Robert C. Kerber, Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus   2002

    Robert Kerber

    S.B. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1960
    Ph.D. Purdue University, 1965 

    Joseph W. Lauher, Professor   2009

    Joseph Lauher

    B.A. Illinois Wesleyan University, 1970
    Ph.D. Northwestern University, 1974
    Research Associate, Cornell University, 1974-1975 

    Kenneth J. Takeuchi, Distinguished Teaching Professor   2008

    Kenneth Takeuchi

    B.S. University of Cincinnati
    Ph.D. The Ohio State University
    Postdoctoral Researcher, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill