Skip Navigation

Conference Committees

Conference Co-Chairpersons

Robert Catell
Chairman of the Board, Advanced Energy Center 
Chairman, NYS Smart Grid Consortium

Yacov Shamash
Vice President, Economic Development
Stony Brook University

Alicia Barton
President & CEO

Gil C. Quiniones
President & CEO
New York Power Authority

Ken Daly
National Grid New York



Scientific Advisory Council


Stony Brook UniversityCo-Chairperson: Dr. Yacov Shamash
Vice President, Economic Development 
Stony Brook University


Brookhaven National LaboratoryCo-Chairperson: Dr. Doon Gibbs
Brookhaven National Laboratory


NYIT - New York Institute of TechnologyDr. Nada Marie Anid
Dean, School of Engineering and Computing Sciences
New York Institute of Technology


Stony Brook University

Dr. Kathleen Araujo
Assistant Professor, Technology and Society Department, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Stony Brook University


Rensselaer Polytechnic InstituteDr. Chulsung Bae
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute


NYU Tandon School of EngineeringDr. Kurt Becker
Vice Dean for Research, Innovation, and Entrepreneurship 
NYU Tandon School of Engineering


Syracuse University Center of ExcellenceDr. Edward A. Bogucz
Executive Director, Syracuse Center of Excellence in Environmental and Energy Systems 
Associate Professor, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Syracuse University

NYSERDADr. Ellen Burkhard
Senior Project Manager, Environmental Research and Energy Resources 


Cornell UniversityDr. Lance R. Collins
Joseph Silbert Dean of Engineering
Cornell University


The Kate Gleason College of EngineeringDr. Doreen Edwards
Dean and Professor 
Kate Gleason College of Engineering 
Rochester Institute of Engineering


University of DelawareDr. Jeremy Firestone
Director, Center for Carbon-free Power Integration Professor
School of Marine Science and Policy 
University of Delaware

University at BuffaloDr. Liesl Folks
Dean, School of Engineering and Applied
Sciences University at Buffalo


Rutgers, the State University of New JerseyDr. Serpil Guran
Director, Rutgers EcoComplex,“Clean Energy Innovation Center” RutgersX “EcoIgnite: Clean Energy Proof of Concept Center& Accelerator” Program Assoc. Teach. Prof. Dept. of Plant Biology
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey


Clarkson UniversityDr. William Jemison
Tony Collins Professor of Innovative Engineering Culture 
Dean of Engineering - Wallace H Coulter School of Engineering 
Clarkson University


Rutgers, the State University of New JerseyDr. Laura Joseph
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Farmingdale State College

NYSERDADr. Robyn Marquis
Project Manager, Clean Transportation


University at Albany SUNYDr. Richard Perez
Research Professor
University at Albany


SUNY Polytechnic InstituteDr. Bahgat Sammakia
Interim President
SUNY Polytechnic Institute


Stony Brook UniversityFotis Sotiropoulos, PhD, Dean
SUNY Distinguished Professor
College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Stony Brook University


Stony Brook UniversityDr. Esther Takeuchi
SUNY Distinguished Professor 
Department of Materials Science and Chemical Engineering, Department of Chemistry Director, Center for Mesoscale Transport Properties (m2M), Stony Brook University, Energy Sciences Directorate, Brookhaven National Laboratory, Stony Brook University


Workshop Presenters

Click here for more information about Workshops and to download full Conference Agenda


Edgewise EnergyModerator: Sammy Chu
Chief Executive Officer 
Edgewise Energy


Center for Corporate Education at Stony Brook UniversityModerator: Pat Malone
Executive Director of the Center for Corporate Education and The Advanced Energy Training Institute
Stony Brook University


Suffolk County Economic Development

Introduced by: Lisa Broughton
Suffolk County Energy Director
Economic Development and Planning Department   


NYSERDAAlicia Barton
President & CEO


National GridKenneth D. Daly
National Grid New York


Brookhaven National LaboratoryDr. Doon Gibbs
Brookhaven National Laboratory


New York Power Authority (NYPA)Kimberly A. Harriman 
Senior Vice President of Public & Regulatory Affairs
New York Power Authority


GE Renewable EnergyDanielle W. Merfeld, Ph.D.
VP and Chief Technology Officer
GE Renewable Energy



Paul Meyer
Senior Vice President


Workforce Development InstituteEd Murphy
Executive Director
Workforce Development Institute (WDI)



Workforce Development InstituteKristine Pizzo
SVP of Human Resources and Enterprise Shared Services
New York Power Authority


International Brotherhood of Electrical WorkersEllen A. Redmond
International Representative
International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers