Skip Navigation

Endowed Faculty


Our brilliant faculty are the lifeblood of our University. As teachers, researchers and mentors, they bring their unique perspective and collaborative spirit to the classroom, the lab and the campus community. The quality of our faculty also bolsters the institution’s reputation, attracting the very best students and research dollars to campus.
The most important tool we have for recruiting and retaining top talent is to offer endowed professorships and chairs, considered one of the highest career distinctions bestowed upon university faculty. Aside from the recognition and reward for the advances they’ve made in their respective fields, an endowed position provides these leading minds with the salary, benefits and vital research expenses to support their life’s work.

Creating an Endowed Faculty Position

investment graphic

news and Features: Investing in the world's brighTest minds


  anissa abi-dargham Anissa Abi-Dargham, MD 
Lourie Endowed Chair in Psychiatry
established 2019
  Baseem Allam Bassem Allam, PhD 
Marinetics Endowed Professor
established 2014
  Gábor Balászi Gábor Balázsi, PhD
Henry Laufer Associate Professor of Physical and Quantitative Biology
established 2012
  Latha Chandran Latha Chandran, MD, MPH
The Miriam and David Donoho Distinguished Teaching Professor
established 2012
  Dennis Choi Dennis Choi, MD, PhD 
Chair of Medicine
established 2011
  Ken A. Dill Ken A. Dill, PhD 
Louis and Beatrice Laufer Endowed Chair in Physical Biology 
established 2008

  arthur grollman Arthur Grollman, MD
Evelyn G. Glick Professor of Experimental Medicine
established 1990
  suzanne fields Suzanne D. Fields, MD 
Leslie P. and Muriel Oberleder Professor in Geriatric Medicine 
established 1996

  Hannun Yusuf A. Hannun, MD
Joel Strum Kenny Professor in Cancer Research
established 2001
  Robert J. Harrison, PhD Robert J. Harrison, PhD 
Founding Director of the Institute for Advanced Computational Science
established 2012
Tarrson Family Professor of Periodontology 
established 2013
  Paul Kelton Paul Kelton, PhD 
Robert David Lion Gardiner Chair in American History
established 2012
  benjamin luft Benjamin J. Luft, MD
Edmund D. Pellegrino Professor of Medicine 
established 1987
  Mallipattu Sandeep Mallipattu, MD  
Dialysis Clinic, Inc.-Martin Liebowitz Professor in Nephrology 
established 2014
  Margaret McGovern, MD, PhD Margaret McGovern, MD, PhD 
Knapp Chair in Pediatrics
established 2010




Ute Moll, MD Ute Moll, MD
Renaissance Endowed Professor in Cancer Biology
established 2019
  Christopher S. Muratore, MD Christopher S. Muratore, MD 
Knapp Swezey Chair in Pediatric Surgery
established 2017

  Nikolaos Panou Nikolaos Panou, PhD
Peter V. Tsantes Endowed Professor in Greek Literature and Language
established 2013 
  Ramin Parsey Ramin Parsey, MD, PhD
Della Pietra Family Chair of Biomedical Imaging
established 2013 
  basil rigas Basil Rigas, MD, DSc
William and Jane Knapp Chair in Pharmacological Sciences
established 2005
  carl safina Carl Safina
Carl Safina Endowed Research Chair for Nature and Humanity
established 2014
  Joel Saltz, MD, PhD Joel Saltz, MD, PhD 
Cherith Foundation Endowed Chair in Biomedical Informatics 
established 2013
  kenneth shroyer Kenneth Shroyer, MD, PhD
Marvin Kuschner Professor of Pathology
established 1988
  Katy Siegel Katy Siegel, PhD
Eugene V. and Clare E. Thaw Endowed Chair in Modern American Art
established 2012
  Hal Skopicki, MD, PhD Hal Skopicki, MD, PhD
Ambassador Charles A. Gargano Chair in Cardiology
established 2013
  Esther Takeuchi, PhD Esther Takeuchi, PhD 
William and Jane Knapp Endowed Chair in Energy and the Environment 
established 2016
  Henry Tannous, MD Henry Tannous, MD 
General Ting Feng Cheng Endowed Chair in Cardiothroacic Surgery
established 2019
  James Vosswinkel James A. Vosswinkel, MD, FACS
Lillian and Leonard Schneider Endowed Professor in Trauma Surgery
established 2016
  patricia wright Patricia C. Wright, PhD
Herrnstein Family Endowed Chair for Conservation Biology 
established 2012
  vincent yang Vincent W. Yang, MD, PhD
Simons Chair of Medicine
established 2011
  Alexander B. Zamolodchikov, PhD Alexander B. Zamolodchikov, PhD 
C.N. Yang – DENG Wei Endowed Chair in Physics and Astronomy
established 2013


Anandavalli and Dr. G. Swaminathan Endowed Research Professorship in Tamil
established 2017

Chair in Child and Adolescent Anxiety and Mood Disorder
established 2019

Chair in Economics
established 2019

Charles C. Bergman Visiting Professor in Studio Art
established 2017

Distinguished  Chair in Economics
established 2019

The Distinguished Endowed Chair in Anesthesiology
established 2018

The Emil C. Voll Professorship in Cancer Research
established 1992

The Endowed Innovation Professorship of Anesthesiology
established 2018

Endowed Professor, Institute for Advanced Computational Science (two positions)
established 2012

Endowed Professorship in Dermatology
established 2013

F. James Rohlf Endowed Chair in Morphometrics
established 2018

Frey Family Foundation Chair in Quantitative Finance
established 2008

The Frey Professorship in Quantitative Finance
established 2013

Independent Agents and Brokers Foundation Endowed Chair in Insurance and Risk Management
established 2017

John L. Hennessy Professorship in Computer Science
established 2018

Marsha Laufer Endowed Assistant Professor of Physical and Quantitative Biology 
established 2012 

Professorship in Economics  (three positions)
established 2019

The Stony Brook Medicine Endowed Professorship in Anesthesiology
established 2018