Skip Navigation

Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation Awards to Two Stony Brook University Electrical Engineering Students

Jingde Hu Abdul Basit Mirza
Jingde Hu (left) and Abdul Basit Mirza (right) with Prof.Parekh and Prof.Petar Djuric, EE & CE Dept.Chair


Awardees at the center flanked by faculty
Awardees at the center flanked by faculty

One undergraduate EE student (Jingde Hu) and one graduate EE student (Abdul Basit Mirza) have been recipients of the 2023 Armstrong Memorial Research Foundation (AMRF) awards for excellence in high GPA achievement.

Professor Jayant P. Parekh, who is also Vice President of the AMRF, handed out an award certificate and a check for $1000 to each of the awardees.

The award ceremony coincided with the university graduation ceremony held on May 19, 2023. Attending the ceremony were the awardees, graduating students and accompanying family members and friends, and participating faculty. Food and refreshments were served at the event. 

The AMRF awards are an annual event at two universities, Columbia University and Stony Brook University, which are on the Board of Directors of the AMRF and are recipients of funding for the awards from the AMRF.

The awards are given in honor of Edwin Howard Armstrong (1890-1954), the inventor of FM radio, who ranks among the greatest scientists of all time.