Skip Navigation

Seven ECE Faculty Belong to the National Academy of Inventors

The National Academy of Inventors® is a member organization comprising U.S. and international universities, and governmental and non-profit research institutes, with more than 4,000 individual inventor members and Fellows from more than 250 institutions worldwide. Of the 74 members in the Stony Brook chapter, seven are ECE faculty:

  1. Gregory Belenky
  2. Harbans Dhadwal
  3. Vera Gorfinkel
  4. Mikhail Gouzman
  5. Serge Luryi
  6. Thomas Robertazzi
  7. Leon Shterengas

At Stony Brook there are Fellow, Members and Honorary Members. Members are elected each year by the Chapter Board and Executive Committee. The criteria for selection is the number of inventions that the faculty has based on data from the campus Research and Technology Transfer office.

Nationally, the NAI was established in 2010. The Stony Brook University chapter’s President is Dr. Iwao Ojima of Chemistry and the Executive Director is Peter Donnelly of the Technology Transfer office.

The Stony Brook chapter’s mission statement reads: The Stony Brook University Chapter of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI-SBU) has been established (i) to recognize the contributions of academic inventors across all disciplines in the Stony Brook University community, (ii) enhance the visibility of university technology and academic innovation, (iii) encourage the disclosure of intellectual property, (iv) educate and mentor innovative students, and (v) translate the inventions of its members to benefit society.