Group Leader:

Prof. H. Metcalf

Adjunct Professor:

Tom Bergeman

Visiting Scholar:

Martin G. Cohen

Graduate Students:

Brian Arnold
Yifan Fang
Xiaoyang Liu

Undergraduate Students:

Michael Dapolito
David Siegel
Perri Zilberman

Recent Post-doc

Mary Lyon

Recent Ph.D. Graduates :

John Elgin
Chris Corder
Yuan Sun
Daniel Stack
Xiaoxu Lu
Jason Reeves
Claire Allred

Recent MSI Graduates:

Taichi Inaki

Recent Undergrads:

Max Stanley
Anthony Orlando
Grant Richmond
Xiang Hua
Jessica Gasparik
Casey McKenna
Stefan Evans
Seth Berl
James Dragan
Thomas Mittiga


Vlad Zakharov
Deqian Yuan

Laser Teaching Center

John Noé

John Elgin

I joined the Metcalf group during the summer of 2009, at the end of my first year at Stony Brook. I began working with Daniel Stack on the Adiabatic Rapid Passage (ARP) project and we are continuing the work outlined in the ARP research section.

Email: John.d.elgin [at]
Phone: (631) 632-8184