Group Leader:

Prof. H. Metcalf

Visiting Scholar:

Martin G. Cohen

Graduate Students:

Edoardo Buonocore
Yifan Fang
Xiaoyang Liu
Eli Rafkin

Undergraduate Students:

Michael Dapolito
(now MSI)

Recent Post-doc

Mary Lyon

Recent Ph.D. Graduates :

Brian Arnold
John Elgin
Chris Corder
Yuan Sun
Daniel Stack
Xiaoxu Lu
Jason Reeves
Claire Allred

Recent MSI Graduates:

Ian Schwartz
Taichi Inaki

Recent Undergrads:

ChiuYin Lee
David Siegel
Perri Zilberman
Max Stanley
Anthony Orlando
Grant Richmond
Xiang Hua
Jessica Gasparik
Casey McKenna
Stefan Evans
Seth Berl
James Dragan
Thomas Mittiga

Laser Teaching Center:

Eric Jones


Vlad Zakharov
Deqian Yuan

Adjunct Professor:

Tom Bergeman DECEASED

Laser Teaching Center:

John Noé

Harold Metcalf

In the late 1960’s, our early work with N2 pumped dye lasers was precision measurements in atoms. Later we studied the OH free radical and the Stark effect in Rydberg atoms.

Laser cooling work began in 1981 and was extended to sub-Doppler cooling, quantum states of motion, dark states, and magnetic effects. More recently we focused on ultra-strong optical forces with a huge velocity capture range provided by non-monochromatic light. These forces were recently exploited for atomic nanofabrication and cooling without spontaneous emission. There are over 150 refereed papers, several review papers, the widely used Laser Cooling book, and our new book on atomic physics.

We have originated courses in atomic physics, introduced the Masters of Science in Instrumentation Program and its professional component (PSM), founded the Laser Teaching Center that has served hundreds of students on their various projects. We also run the Symposium on Undergraduate Research at the DLS annual meeting. We have sponsored many special events, for example, the gala LaserFest event back in 2010.

Prof. Metcalf has had several Visiting Professor appointments including MIT, École Normale Supérieure, Ben Gurion, Utrecht, and others.

Email: harold.metcalf [at]
Phone: (631) 632-8185