The Foreign Languages Teacher Education Program

Foreign Language ClassThe program is an integral part of the Department of European Languages, Literatures, and Cultures and serves students in that department,in the Department of Asian and Asian American Studies, and in the Department of Hispanic Languages and Literature. The Foreign Language Teacher Preparation Program coordinates the preparation of undergraduate and graduate students to become teachers of French, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish at the middle and secondary school levels.It also coordinates the preparation of undergraduate students to become teachers of Chinese, Japanese and Korean at the same levels. Students in this program take content courses in the language, literatures, and cultures of their field as well as pedagogy courses tailored to the preparation of future Foreign language teachers. Practical experience is gained through observations in schools around the region and through a semester of mentored student teaching at the middle and high school levels.

Our program prides itself on providing students with the opportunity to gain a thorough knowledge of the language(s), literatures, and cultures which they are preparing to teach. Possibilities for study abroad are plentiful at Stony Brook, as are opportunities to take language courses taught by experts in their fields. Because of the diverse student body at Stony Brook, students are also afforded the chance to interact with native speakers of the languages they are studying, both in their classes and elsewhere on campus, thus enhancing their own linguistic skills and cultural knowledge. In addition, the Foreign Language Teacher Preparation Program maintains close ties with the Language Learning and Research Center, a state-of-the-art multimedia learning center, which helps students meet the challenge of integrating technology with the teaching of Foreign languages. Students may choose to take a course in media for Foreign language teaching offered in the LLRC as well.

A further mission of the Foreign Language Teacher Preparation Program is to provide on-going training for practitioners in the field. By offering workshops, seminars and courses for Foreign language teachers, this program aims to strengthen our ties to the professional community and to meet the needs of all of our students, past, present, and future.

Please click on the following link for access to our
Guide to Teacher Education.

For more information please contact:

Prosper Sanou, Ph.D.
Director, Foreign Languages Teacher Education Program
Stony Brook University
Humanities 1069
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5359
Phone: (631) 632-7440
Fax: (631) 632-9612
Email: prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu


For undergraduate teacher education in Chinese:
Professor Agnes Weiyun He: agnes.he@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate and graduate teacher education in French:
Professor Prosper Sanou: prosper.sanou@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate and graduate teacher education in German:
Professor Robert Bloomer : robert.bloomer@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate and graduate teacher education in Italian:
Professor Charles Franco: charles.franco@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate teacher education in Japanese:
Professor Eriko Sato: eriko.sato@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate teacher education in Korean:
Professor Heejeong Sohn: heejeong.sohn@stonybrook.edu

For undergraduate teacher education in Spanish:
Professor Daniela Flesler: daniela.flesler@stonybrook.edu

For graduate teacher education in Spanish:
Professor Lou Deutsch: lou.deutsch@stonybrook.edu


Please click on this link for the instructions on how to apply to the Undergraduate Foreign Language Teacher Education Program.


Please click on this link for the Foreign Language Teacher Education Program's Student Advising Memorandum.