Skip Navigation
Search

Contact Us

 

School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-5000

Telephone: 631-632-8700
Fax: 631-632-8820

Follow SoMAS on our Social Media Channels

Facebook    |    Twitter    |    YouTube     Instagram   |      TikTok    |   LinkedIn

 

View the   full SoMAS Directory of Faculty and Staff

 

Lecturers

Kurt Bretsch  kurt.bretsch@stonybrook.edu
Marine and Environmental Science Education, Coastal Community Ecology

Arlene Cassidy  Arlene.Cassidy@stonybrook.edu
Faculty Director, Sustainability Studies

Sharon Pochron  sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu
ecotoxicology and soil ecology

Tara Rider  tara.rider@stonybrook.edu
Maritime and Environmental History, Sustainability

Assistant Professors

Ali Farhadzadeh  ali.farhadzadeh@stonybrook.edu
Nearshore hydrodynamics, sediment transport, wave-current-sediment-structure interaction, resilient coastal protection systems, coastal flooding

Donovan Finn  donovan.finn@stonybrook.edu
community-based planning, disaster recovery, resilience policy, urban design and placemaking

Sara Hamideh  sara.hamideh@stonybrook.edu
disaster recovery and community resilience

Sung-Gheel Jang  SungGheel.Jang@stonybrook.edu
Geospatial Sciences and geographic information systems

David Taylor  david.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu
environmental humanities, history of naturalist studies, American Literature, nature writing

Lesley Thorne  lesley.thorne@stonybrook.edu
Bio-physical and trophic interactions in marine ecology; application of spatial analysis and landscape ecology techniques to marine conservation

Karina Yager  karina.yager@stonybrook.edu
Climate change impacts; Remote Sensing; Land-cover and Land-Use Change; Alpine Ecosystems; Andes; Mountain Societies, and Sustainability Studies

Associate Professors

Katherine Aubrecht  katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu
chemical education, sustainable and green chemistry

Steven Beaupré  steven.beaupre@stonybrook.edu
Marine Biogeochemistry, Chemical kinetics of natural organic matter, radiocarbon analyses

David Black  David.Black@stonybrook.edu
Paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, deep-sea sediments, marine micropaleontology

Jackie Collier  Jackie.Collier@stonybrook.edu
Phytoplankton physiological ecology; Biocomplexity and microbial diversity; Planktonic ecosystem processes in marine, estuarine, and freshwater systems

Michael French  michael.m.french@stonybrook.edu
supercell and tornado dynamics; Doppler weather radar applications; mesoscale meteorology

Hyemi Kim  hyemi.kim@stonybrook.edu
low frequency climate variability, tropical meteorology, ocean-atmosphere interaction, prediction and predictability, tropical cyclone activity, extreme events

Kamazima Lwiza  Kamazima.Lwiza@stonybrook.edu
Structure and dynamics of shelf-seas and remote sensing oceanography

Brad Peterson  Bradley.Peterson@stonybrook.edu
Community ecology of seagrass dominated ecosystems

Kevin Reed  kevin.reed@stonybrook.edu
Climate Modeling; Climate Change Attribution, Tropical Cyclones; Climate Extremes; Atmospheric Dynamics, Science Policy

Nils Volkenborn  nils.volkenborn@stonybrook.edu
Sediment biogeochemistry, animal-sediment interactions, benthic ecology

Joe Warren  Joe.Warren@stonybrook.edu
Acoustical oceanography, Zooplankton behavior and ecology

Laura Wehrmann  laura.wehrmann@stonybrook.edu
Marine Biogeochemistry, Geochemical element cycles, Deep Biosphere

Christopher Wolfe  christopher.wolfe@stonybrook.edu
Physical oceanography, large-scale circulation: theory and modeling.

Qingzhi Zhu  Qing.Zhu@stonybrook.edu
Chem-/Bio- Sensors, Marine Biogeochemistry, Trace Elements, Environmental Analytical Chemistry

Professors

Josephine Aller  Josephine.Aller@stonybrook.edu
Marine benthic ecology, invertebrate zoology,marine microbiology, biogeochemistry

Robert Cerrato  Robert.Cerrato@stonybrook.edu
Benthic ecology, population and community dynamics.

Edmund Chang  Kar.Chang@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric dynamics and diagnoses, climate dynamics, synoptic meteorology

Yong Chen  yong.chen.2@stonybrook.edu
Fisheries ecology; stock assessment; population and ecosystem dynamics; monitoring program design and optimization; climate change; fisheries management; international fisheries

Brian Colle  Brian.Colle@stonybrook.edu
Extreme weather, coastal meteorology, weather forecasting, regional climate change

Michael Frisk  Michael.Frisk@stonybrook.edu
Fish ecology, population modeling and life history theory

Sultan Hameed  Sultan.Hameed@stonybrook.edu
Climate change: analysis, impacts, and predictability

Marat Khairoutdinov  Marat.Khairoutdinov@stonybrook.edu
Climate modeling, high-resolution cloud modeling, cloud microphysics, super-parameterization, massively parallel super-computing, cloud parameterization

Daniel Knopf  daniel.knopf@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric Chemistry, Microphysics and Chemistry of Atmospheric Aerosols, Heterogeneous Atmospheric Chemistry and Kinetics

Pavlos Kollias  pavlos.kollias@stonybrook.edu
Cloud Microphysics and Dynamics, Environmental Remote Sensing, Radar Meteorology and Technology

Darcy Lonsdale  Darcy.Lonsdale@stonybrook.edu
Ecology and physiology of marine zooplankton; food web dynamics of estuarine plankton and the impacts of harmful algal blooms.

John Mak  John.Mak@stonybrook.edu
Trace gas isotopic composition for the reconstruction of atmospheric chemistry in the paleo atmosphere; trace gas emissions from the biosphere; development of instrumentation platforms for research aircraft.

Gordon Taylor  Gordon.Taylor@stonybrook.edu
Marine microbiology, interests in microbial ecology, trophodynamics, anoxia, hypoxia, single-cell analysis, Raman microspectrometry and atomic force microscopy

Minghua Zhang  Minghua.Zhang@stonybrook.edu
Climate modelling, atmospheric dynamics

Distinguished Professors

Robert Aller  Robert.Aller@stonybrook.edu
Marine biogeochemistry, marine animal-sediment relations.

Nicholas Fisher  Nicholas.Fisher@stonybrook.edu
Marine phytoplankton physiology and ecology, biogeo-chemistry of metals, marine pollution

Paul Shepson  paul.shepson@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric Chemistry and climate change; Aviation; Arctic and coastal halogen chemistry; greenhouse gas source and sink measurements; atmospheric aerosols; climate change communications

 

Distinguished Service Professors

Henry Bokuniewicz  Henry.Bokuniewicz@stonybrook.edu
Near shore transport processes, coastal groundwater hydrology, coastal sedimentation, marine geophysics

Malcolm Bowman   | malcolm.bowman@stonybrook.edu
Coastal ocean and estuarine dynamics

Endowed Professors

Carl Safina Endowed Research Chair for Nature and Humanity

Carl Safina is the inaugural recipient of the Carl Safina Endowed Research Chair for Nature and Humanity in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences.

Carl Safina is an international leader in ocean conservation and is the first endowed chair in the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences. Through Carl Safina’s work, the  Safina Center aims to help people understand how the ocean supports all life on our planet. This is a rare opportunity for the campus to celebrate academic and research excellence.

Carl Safina  Csafina@safinacenter.org

Marinetics Endowed Professorship in Marine Science

The Marinetics Endowed Professorship in Marine Science was made possible by the generous and gratifying support of a donor.  It is conferred to a SoMAS full-time faculty who conducts world-class research in one or more of the following areas: population biology of fisheries, fishery ecology, marine ecology, aquaculture, marine animals, marine animal health, marine habitat health, and closely related areas in marine science.

Bassem Allam has been selected as the first Marinetics Endowed Professor in Marine Sciences. This tremendous honor recognizes the quality, productivity, and importance of Professor Allam’s research.

Bassem Allam  bassem.allam@stonybrook.edu

Endowed Chair of Coastal Ecology and Conservation
The Endowed Chair of Coastal Ecology and Conservation was made possible by the generous support of four long term and dedicated donors committed to the research conducted by  Chris Gobler.

Chris Gobler  |   Christopher.Gobler@stonybrook.edu

Endowed Professorship of Ocean Conservation Science
Ellen Pikitch is the inaugural holder of the Endowed Professorship of Ocean Conservation Science. This endowed professorship is funded by the Ocean Sanctuary Alliance and an anonymous private donor both committed to the research of   Ellen Pikitch.

Ellen Pikitch  Ellen.Pikitch@stonybrook.edu

Research Faculty

Charles Flagg , Research Professor |  Charles.Flagg@stonybrook.edu
Continental Shelf Dynamics, Bio-Physical Interactions in Shelf Systems, Climate Change Effects on Coastal Systems, Shipboard ADCPs on Volunteer Observing Ships

Roger Flood , Research Professor |  Roger.Flood@stonybrook.edu
Marine geology, sediment dynamics, continental margin sedimentation

Karine Kleinhaus , Research Associate Professor |  karine.kleinhaus@stonybrook.edu
Coral reproduction, hormonal signalling, gametogenesis, reef conservation, coral aging and senescence

Ping Liu , Research Associate Professor |  ping.liu@stonybrook.edu
Climate change, dynamics and modeling;

Israel Lopez-Coto , Research Assistant Professor |  israel.lopez-coto@stonybrook.edu
pollutant atmospheric transport and turbulent mixing, emissions quantification, air quality and toxic exposure

Mariko Oue , Research Assistant Professor  | mariko.oue@stonybrook.edu
radar polarimetry, mixed-phase clouds microphysics, radar simulators

Emmanuelle Pales-Espinosa , Research Associate Professor |  emmanuelle.palesespinosa@stonybrook.edu
Shellfish physiology, Particle selection mechanisms in suspension-feeding bivalves, Algology

Roy Price , Research Assistant Professor |  roy.price@stonybrook.edu
Hydrothermal vents, water-rock reactions, toxic metal & metalloid cycling in coastal environments, arsenic bioaccumulation, vent-biota relationships, and alkaline shallow-sea vents

Arjun Venkatesan , Research Associate Professor |  Arjun.Venkatesan@stonybrook.edu 
contaminants of emerging concern, water treatment, environmental analytical chemistry, wastewater-based epidemiology

Affiliated Faculty

Stephen Baines  Stephen.Baines@stonybrook.edu
Aquatic ecosystem ecology, ecological stoichiometry

Heidi Hutner  heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu
Environmental literature and film; ecofeminism; environmental justice; feminism; race studies; women’s literature; Restoration and eighteenth-century literature and culture.

Heather Lynch  heather.lynch@stonybrook.edu
Development and application of statistics

Carrie McDonough  carrie.mcdonough@stonybrook.edu
environmental organic chemistry, environmental engineering, and public health

Dianna Padilla  dianna.padilla@stonybrook.edu
Aquatic ecology, applied ecology, conservation biology

 

Emeritus Faculty

Robert Armstrong , Professor Emeritus

Bruce Brownawell , Associate Professor Emeritus

Edward Carpenter, Professor Emeritus

Robert Cess , Professor Emeritus

J. Kirk Cochran , Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Roger Flood , Professor Emeritus

Jane Fox, Professor Emeritus

Marvin Geller , Professor Emeritus

Cindy Lee , Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Glenn Lopez , Professor Emeritus

Anne McElroy , Professor Emeritus

J. R. Schubel, Professor Emeritus

Mary Scranton , Professor Emeritus

Dong-Ping Wang , Professor Emeritus

Robert Wilson , Associate Professor Emeritus

Charles Wurster , Associate Professor Emeritus

 

Adjunct Lecturers

Mirza Beg |   mirza.beg@stonybrook.edu

Maria Brown  |   maria.brown@stonybrook.edu

Adam Charboneau |   adam.charboneau@stonybrook.edu

Kimberly Durham |   kdurham@riverheadfoundation.org

Steve Englebright 

James Gilmore |   james.gilmore@stonybrook.edu

Arthur Kopelman |   president@cresli.org

Michael White  |   mwhite@wintersbros.com