Skip Navigation

REACH Vision Committee

The REACH Vision Committee will coordinate campus-wide engagement, explore what it means to be Stony Brook, the cultural implications of “One Campus,” and examine issues confronting higher education at large and Stony Brook University in particular.

The Vision Committee will achieve this through:

  • Spearheading community outreach and ideation through community workshops, surveys, campus conversations
  • Creating visioning and value statements to guide our planning efforts in a way that aligns with SBU’s mission
  • Leveraging community feedback to identify areas of focus and opportunity

Committee selection was made by the Project REACH Senior Leadership Committee, through a blind evaluation process focused on the quality of responses to the two essay questions in the application.  The composition of the committee was determined by a select group of senior leaders to ensure balance and diversity. 

Thank you to everyone who applied!

Vision Committee Members

Patricia  Bruckenthal - School of Nursing
Brian  Colle -School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Carlos Colosqui - College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Mechanical Engineering, Applied Mathematics & Statistics, Center for Mesoscale Transport Processes
Liliana M Davalos - College of Arts and Sciences, Ecology & Evolution
Robert Harrison - IACS/AMS
Danling Jiang - College of Business
Thomas Manuel - College of Arts and Sciences, Music, Jazz Department
Jennie Williams - Renaissance School of Medicine, Family, Population, and Preventive Medicine
Stanislaus Wong - College of Arts and Sciences, Chemistry

Kacy Bullard - Advancement
Amanda Flanagan - College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, Mechanical Engineering
Smita Majumdar Das - Center for Prevention and Outreach
Dawn Medley - Office of the Provost, Enrollment Management
Edder Peralta - Emergency Medical Services (EMS)
Joanie Schreiber - School of Health Professions
Urszula Zalewski - Career Center

Dayashree Baskaran - College of Arts and Sciences (undergraduate student)
Samantha Fuller - School of Medicine (graduate student)
Anthony Machuca- College of Arts and Sciences, College of Health Professions (undergraduate student)
Daniel Waxman - College of Engineering and Applied Sciences (graduate student)

David Austin - Executive Communications Officer
Kara Desanna - Assistant Provost for Learning Outcomes and Operations   
Rose Martinelli - Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Login to Edit