Skip Navigation
Search

People at SoMAS

Emeritus Faculty

Robert Armstrong, Associate Professor Emeritus

Malcolm Bowman, Distinguished Service Professor Emeritus

Bruce Brownawell, Associate Professor Emeritus

Edward Carpenter, Professor Emeritus

J. Kirk Cochran, Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Roger Flood, Professor Emeritus

Jane Fox, Professor Emeritus

Marvin Geller, Professor Emeritus

Cindy Lee, Distinguished Professor Emeritus

Glenn Lopez, Professor Emeritus

Anne McElroy, Professor Emeritus

J. R. Schubel, Professor Emeritus

Mary Scranton, Professor Emeritus

Dong-Ping Wang, Professor Emeritus

Robert Wilson, Associate Professor Emeritus

 

Adjunct Faculty

James Ammerman |  james.ammerman@stonybrook.edu

M. Hamish Bowman  |  Michael.Bowman@stonybrook.edu 

Michael Cahill |  mjc@germanocahill.com

Nolwenn Dheilly |  nolwenn.dheilly@stonybrook.edu

Kathleen Fallon | Kmf228@cornell.edu

Mark Fast | mfast@upei.ca

Huan Feng |  fengh@mail.montclair.edu

William Golden | william.golden@stonybrook.edu 

Guanyu Huang | guanyu.huang.1@stonybrook.edu

Roxanne Karimi |  roxanne.karimi@stonybrook.edu

Hyemi Kim | hyemi.kim@stonybrook.edu

Karine Kleinhaus | karine.kleinhaus@stonybrook.edu

Wuyin Lin |  wuyin.lin@stonybrook.edu

Yangang Liu |  lyg@bnl.gov

Stephan Munch |  steve.munch@noaa.gov

Joyce Novak |  joyce.novak@stonybrook.edu

Janet Nye |  janet.nye@stonybrook.edu

Christine O’Connell |  christine.oconnell@stonybrook.edu

Nicole Riemer |  nriemer@uiuc.edu

Keith Roberts |  keith.roberts@stonybrook.edu

Frank Roethel |  frank.roethel@stonybrook.edu

Stephen Schwartz |  stephen.schwartz@stonybrook.edu

Matthew Sclafani |  matthew.sclafani@stonybrook.edu

Arjun Venkatesan | Arjun.Venkatesan@stonybrook.edu

Andrew Vogelman |  vogelmann@bnl.gov

Robert Yarorobert.yaro@stonybrook.edu 

Sandra Yuter  |  seyuter@ncsu.edu

 

Adjunct Lecturers

Mirza Beg |  mirza.beg@stonybrook.edu

Kimberly Durhamkdurham@amseas.org

Steve Englebright 

James Gilmore |  james.gilmore@stonybrook.edu

Arthur Kopelman |  president@cresli.org

Maxine Montellommontello@nymarinerescue.org

Richard Murdocco | richard.j.murdocco@stonybrook.edu

Michael White | mwhite@wintersbros.com

 

Search SoMAS Profiles  |  Graduate Faculty

Visual Faculty Directories: Atmospheric Division Faculty | Marine Division Faculty | Sustainability Division Faculty

Alumni Perspectives  |  Awards and Honors  |  Dean's Council  |  Employee History

Distinguished Professors

Robert Aller | Robert.Aller@stonybrook.edu
Marine biogeochemistry, marine animal-sediment relations.

Nicholas Fisher | Nicholas.Fisher@stonybrook.edu
Marine phytoplankton physiology and ecology, biogeo-chemistry of metals, marine pollution

Chris GoblerChristopher.Gobler@stonybrook.edu
Coastal ecosystem ecology, climate change, harmful algal blooms, phytoplankton, ocean acidification

Paul Shepson | paul.shepson@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric Chemistry and climate change; Aviation; Arctic and coastal halogen chemistry; greenhouse gas source and sink measurements; atmospheric aerosols; climate change communications

Minghua Zhang | Minghua.Zhang@stonybrook.edu
Climate modelling, atmospheric dynamics

 

Distinguished Service Professors

Henry Bokuniewicz | Henry.Bokuniewicz@stonybrook.edu
Near shore transport processes, coastal groundwater hydrology, coastal sedimentation, marine geophysics

Endowed Professors

Bassem Allam | bassem.allam@stonybrook.edu
Marinetics Endowed Professorship in Marine Science

Chris GoblerChristopher.Gobler@stonybrook.edu
Endowed Chair of Coastal Ecology and Conservation

Ellen Pikitch | Ellen.Pikitch@stonybrook.edu
Endowed Professorship of Ocean Conservation Science

Carl Safina | Csafina@safinacenter.org
Carl Safina Endowed Research Chair for Nature and Humanity

 

Professors

Josephine Aller | Josephine.Aller@stonybrook.edu
Marine benthic ecology, invertebrate zoology,marine microbiology, biogeochemistry

Robert Cerrato | Robert.Cerrato@stonybrook.edu
Benthic ecology, population and community dynamics.

Edmund Chang | Kar.Chang@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric dynamics and diagnoses, climate dynamics, synoptic meteorology

Yong Chen | yong.chen.2@stonybrook.edu
Fisheries ecology; stock assessment; population and ecosystem dynamics; monitoring program design and optimization; climate change; fisheries management; international fisheries

Brian Colle | Brian.Colle@stonybrook.edu
Extreme weather, coastal meteorology, weather forecasting, regional climate change

Michael Frisk | Michael.Frisk@stonybrook.edu
Fish ecology, population modeling and life history theory

Sultan Hameed | Sultan.Hameed@stonybrook.edu
Climate change: analysis, impacts, and predictability

Marat Khairoutdinov | Marat.Khairoutdinov@stonybrook.edu
Climate modeling, high-resolution cloud modeling, cloud microphysics and parameterization

Daniel Knopf | daniel.knopf@stonybrook.edu
Atmospheric Chemistry, Microphysics and Chemistry of Atmospheric Aerosols, Heterogeneous Atmospheric Chemistry and Kinetics

Pavlos Kollias | pavlos.kollias@stonybrook.edu
Cloud Microphysics and Dynamics, Environmental Remote Sensing, Radar Meteorology and Technology

Darcy Lonsdale | Darcy.Lonsdale@stonybrook.edu
Ecology and physiology of marine zooplankton; food web dynamics of estuarine plankton and the impacts of harmful algal blooms.

John Mak| John.Mak@stonybrook.edu
Trace gas isotopic composition for the reconstruction of atmospheric chemistry in the paleo atmosphere; trace gas emissions from the biosphere; development of instrumentation platforms for research aircraft.

Brad Peterson | Bradley.Peterson@stonybrook.edu
Community ecology of seagrass dominated ecosystems

Gordon Taylor | Gordon.Taylor@stonybrook.edu
Marine microbiology, interests in microbial ecology, trophodynamics, anoxia, hypoxia, single-cell analysis, Raman microspectrometry and atomic force microscopy

 

Associate Professors of Service

Sharon Pochron | sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu
ecotoxicology and soil ecology

Associate Professors

Katherine Aubrecht | katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu
chemical education, sustainable and green chemistry

Steven Beaupré | steven.beaupre@stonybrook.edu
Marine Biogeochemistry, Chemical kinetics of natural organic matter, radiocarbon analyses

David Black | David.Black@stonybrook.edu
Paleoclimatology, paleoceanography, deep-sea sediments, marine micropaleontology

Jackie Collier | Jackie.Collier@stonybrook.edu
Phytoplankton physiological ecology; Biocomplexity and microbial diversity; Planktonic ecosystem processes in marine, estuarine, and freshwater systems

Mary Collins | mary.collins@stonybrook.edu
Environmental Health Inequality, Environmental Justice, Socio-Environmental Systems, Quantitative Methods, Data Synthesis and Visualization

Ali Farhadzadeh | ali.farhadzadeh@stonybrook.edu
Nearshore hydrodynamics, resilient coastal protection systems, coastal flooding

Michael French | michael.m.french@stonybrook.edu
supercell and tornado dynamics; Doppler weather radar applications; mesoscale meteorology

Sara Hamideh | sara.hamideh@stonybrook.edu
disaster recovery and community resilience

Kamazima Lwiza | Kamazima.Lwiza@stonybrook.edu
Structure and dynamics of shelf-seas and remote sensing oceanography

Kevin Reed | kevin.reed@stonybrook.edu
Climate Modeling; Climate Change Attribution, Tropical Cyclones; Climate Extremes; Atmospheric Dynamics, Science Policy

Lesley Thorne | lesley.thorne@stonybrook.edu
Bio-physical and trophic interactions in marine ecology; application of spatial analysis and landscape ecology techniques to marine conservation

Nils Volkenborn | nils.volkenborn@stonybrook.edu
Sediment biogeochemistry, animal-sediment interactions, benthic ecology

Joe Warren | Joe.Warren@stonybrook.edu
Acoustical oceanography, Zooplankton behavior and ecology

Laura Wehrmann | laura.wehrmann@stonybrook.edu
Marine Biogeochemistry, Geochemical element cycles, Deep Biosphere

Christopher Wolfe | christopher.wolfe@stonybrook.edu
Physical oceanography, large-scale circulation: theory and modeling.

Qingzhi Zhu | Qing.Zhu@stonybrook.edu
Chem-/Bio- Sensors, Marine Biogeochemistry, Trace Elements, Environmental Analytical Chemistry

Assistant Professors

Donovan Finn | donovan.finn@stonybrook.edu
community-based planning, disaster recovery, resilience policy, urban design and placemaking

Christine Gilbert | Christine.gilbert.1@stonybrook.edu
science communication, health communication, and crisis and risk communication

Sung-Gheel Jang | SungGheel.Jang@stonybrook.edu
Geospatial Sciences and geographic information systems

Jack McSweeney | jack.mcsweeney@stonybrook.edu
estuarine dynamics, coastal sediment transport, shoaling internal waves, coastal connectivity

Roy Price | roy.price@stonybrook.edu
Hydrothermal vents, water-rock reactions, toxic metal & metalloid cycling in coastal environments, arsenic bioaccumulation, vent-biota relationships, and alkaline shallow-sea vents

David Taylor | david.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu
environmental humanities, history of naturalist studies, American Literature, nature writing

Karina Yager | karina.yager@stonybrook.edu
Climate change impacts; Remote Sensing; Andes; Mountain Societies, and Sustainability Studies

Lecturers

Kurt Bretsch | kurt.bretsch@stonybrook.edu
Marine and Environmental Science Education, Coastal Community Ecology

Adam Charboneau | adam.charboneau@stonybrook.edu
Sustainability Studies

Tara Rider | tara.rider@stonybrook.edu
Maritime and Environmental History, Sustainability

Research Professors

Baoshan Chen | baoshan.chen@stonybrook.edu
Carbon cycling in diverse marine ecosystems; Ocean acidification; Climate change effects; Sensor development;

Charles Flagg | Charles.Flagg@stonybrook.edu
Continental Shelf Dynamics, Bio-Physical Interactions in Shelf Systems, Climate Change Effects on Coastal Systems, Shipboard ADCPs on Volunteer Observing Ships

Roger Flood | Roger.Flood@stonybrook.edu
Marine geology, sediment dynamics, continental margin sedimentation

Marvin Geller | marvin.geller@stonybrook.edu
Atmosphere dynamics, stratosphere/mesosphere, climate

Ping Liu | ping.liu@stonybrook.edu
Climate change, dynamics and modeling;

Israel Lopez-Coto | israel.lopez-coto@stonybrook.edu
pollutant atmospheric transport and turbulent mixing, emissions quantification, air quality and toxic exposure

Mariko Oue | mariko.oue@stonybrook.edu
Research Scientist

Emmanuelle Pales-Espinosa | emmanuelle.palesespinosa@stonybrook.edu
Shellfish physiology, Particle selection mechanisms in suspension-feeding bivalves, Algology

Oliver Shipley | oliver.shipley@stonybrook.edu
Bulk and compound specific stable isotope systems, food-webs, ecological niches, community dynamics, ecosystem ecology, energy flow

Affiliated Faculty

Stephen Baines   Stephen.Baines@stonybrook.edu
Aquatic ecosystem ecology, ecological stoichiometry

Gregory Henkes   gregory.henkes@stonybrook.edu
Stable isotope geochemistry of light elements

Heidi Hutner   heidi.hutner@stonybrook.edu
Environmental literature and film; ecofeminism; environmental justice; feminism; race studies; women’s literature; Restoration and eighteenth-century literature and culture.

Jeff Levinton | jeffrey.levinton@stonybrook.edu 
Marine benthic ecology, macroevolution

Heather Lynch   heather.lynch@stonybrook.edu
Development and application of statistics

Dianna Padilla   dianna.padilla@stonybrook.edu
Aquatic ecology, applied ecology, conservation biology