2017-2018 Concert Season Overview

Click here to access the full calendar of events

Stony Brook Symphony Orchestra
Saturday, October 7, 2017, 8 pm
Saturday, November 4, 2017, 8 pm
Saturday, December 9, 2017, 8 pm
Saturday, February 24, 2018, 8 pm
Saturday, March 24, 2018, 8 pm

Fall Chamber Music Festival
Monday, December 11, 2017, through
Friday, December 15, 2017, 5 pm, 7:30 pm

Spring Chamber Music Festival
Wednesday, May 2, 2018, through
Saturday, May 5, 2018

Contemporary Chamber Players
Thursday, November 16, 2017, 8 pm (Stony Brook Premieres!)
Friday, November 17, 2017, 8 pm
(Stony Brook Premieres!, Roulette, NYC) Tuesday, December 12, 2017, 7:30 pm
Thursday, March 8, 2018, 8 pm
Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 8 pm

Baroque Ensembles
Sunday, October 22, 2017, 3 pm
Sunday, November 19, 2017, 3 pm
Sunday, February 11, 2018, 3 pm
Friday, March 2, 2018, 8 pm
Sunday, March 4, 2018, 3 pm
Sunday, April 22, 2018, 3 pm

Stony Brook Opera
Friday, November 17, 2017, 8 pm
Friday, March 2, 2018, 8 pm
Sunday, March 4, 2018, 3 pm
Saturday, April 28, 2018, 8 pm
Sunday, April 29, 2018, 3 pm

University Orchestra
Tuesday, November 14, 2017, 8 pm
Sunday, December 10, 2017, 3 pm (Annual Messiah Sing-Along) Tuesday, March 6, 2018, 7:30 pm
Tuesday, May 1, 2018, 8 pm

Stony Brook Wind Ensemble
Wednesday, November 8, 2017, 8 pm
Wednesday, April 18, 2018, 8 pm

Stony Brook Composers
Tuesday, October 17, 2017, 8 pm
Tuesday, November 7, 2017, 8 pm
Tuesday, November 28, 2017, 8 pm
Monday, March 5, 2018, 8 pm
Tuesday, April 3, 2018, 8 pm

Choral Ensembles
Wednesday, December 6, 2017, 8 pm
Monday, April 30, 2018, 8 pm

Electronic and Computer Music
Wednesday, October 25, 2017, 8 pm (Aural Architectures)
Thursday, February 15, 2018, 8 pm (Earfest)
Friday, April 13, 2018, 8 pm (Sonic Spring)

Jazz
Tuesday, December 5, 2017, 8 pm
Friday, December 8, 2017, 8 pm
Tuesday, April 24, 2018, 8 pm
Friday, April 27, 2018, 8 pm

West African Music Ensemble (VOLTA)
Thursday, November 30, 2017, 7 pm
Thursday, May 3, 2018, 5:30 pm

Undergraduate Recitals and Performance Showcases
Saturday, December 16, 2017, 5 pm, 8 pm
Sunday, December 17, 2017, 1 pm, 4 pm, 7 pm
Thursday, May 10, 2018, 12 pm, 4 pm, 8 pm
Friday, May 11, 2018, 12 pm, 3 pm

Ackerman Honors Chamber Concert
Saturday, May 12, 2018, 8 pm

Stony Brook Premieres!
Thursday, November 16, 2017, 8 pm
Friday, November 17, 2017, 8 pm (Roulette, NYC)

Emerson String Quartet
Wednesday, October 11, 2017, 8 pm
Thursday, December 7, 2017, 8 pm
Tuesday, March 20, 2018, 8 pm

Starry Nights
Tuesday, November 21, 2017, 8 pm
Wednesday, March 7, 2018, 8 pm

Annual Messiah Sing-Along
Sunday, December 10, 2017, 3 pm

Special Events

Colin Carr in Concert
Saturday, October 21, 2017, 7 pm
40th Anniversary Emerson String Quartet Celebration
Thursday, December 7, 2017, 6 pm
Department of Music 50th Anniversary Concert Featuring Christine Goerke
Saturday, December 9, 2017, 8 pm
Celebrating the Music of Sheila Silver
Wednesday, February 7, 2018, 8 pm
Thursday, February 8, 2018, 8 pm (Merkin Concert Hall, NYC)
New Morse Code
Thursday, March 22, 2018, 8 pm
Joanne Shenandoah in Concert
Wednesday, April 11, 2018, 8 pm

 

Login to Edit