Skip Navigation



Dr. Martha Furie received the 2017 Robbins Distinguished Educator Award from the American Society for Investigative Pathology. Congratulations to Dr. Furie for this major and well-deserved recognition of her many contributions!

Dr. James Bliska has been invited to be the keynote speaker at the 5th National Yersinia Conference in Munster Germany on May 30-31, 2016.

Dr. Jorge Benach, Distinguished University Professor, Chairman of the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology and Director of the Center for Infectious Diseases, has decided to retire from Stony Brook University. Fortunately, Dr. Benach will remain at Stony Brook University as a prestigious John S. Toll Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology where he will continue his successful and groundbreaking research enterprise. The CID thanks Dr. Benach for his leadership and support!

The CID's Dr. David Thanassi has been appointed Interim Chair of the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology. Dr. Thanassi joined Stony Brook University as an Assistant Professor in 1999 and has rapidly advanced through the academic ranks, becoming Professor in 2010 and Vice Chair of the Department in 2011. Throughout his career, Dr. Thanassi has obtained significant extramural support for his research program and has contributed to over 60 scholarly publications. The CID congratulates Dr. Thanassi on his new appointment!

Dr. James Bliska was unanimously elected by his colleagues to be the new Director of the CID. Dr. Bliska joined Stony Brook University in 1993 and was promoted to Professor in 2003. Dr. Bliska has contributed to over 130 publications in his career and has been the recipient of numerous NIH grants. Dr. Bliska has also been the director of a long standing NIH T32 training grant for PhD students titled "Molecular and Cell Biology of Infectious Diseases". The CID congratulates Dr. Bliska on his new appointment!


Dr. Brian Sheridan has been invited to give a keynote address at the 2016 annual meeting of the Center for Inflammation and Mucosal Immunology at the University of Florida Gainseville.

Distinguished Professor Dr. Jorge Benach has been elected to honorary lifetime membership in the American Society for Rickettsiology. This distinct honor is in recognition of his many significant contributions to the field of vector-borne diseases.

Dr. James Bliska is the recipient of the 2015 Dean's Alumni Award for Excellence in Graduate Mentoring.

Dr. Brian Sheridan joins the Department of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology and the Center for Infectious Diseases. Dr. Sheridan's research is focused on understanding the processes that regulate the development of mucosal immunity using oral infection with the pathogen Listeria monocytogenes.


Congratulations to Dr. Adrianus van der Velden for his promotion to Associate Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology!


Dr. James Bliska has been elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). This honor is bestowed upon individuals for seminal contributions to research and is in recognition of his contributions to the field of microbial pathogenesis and bacterial-host interactions. Professor Bliska will be honored at the annual meeting of AAAS in Chicago on February 14, 2014.   More

Dr. Erich Mackow has been invited to present the keynote address at the IX International Conference on Hantaviruses to be held in Beijing, China in June 2013.

Dr. Erich Mackow has been elected to Fellowship in the American Academy of Microbiology. This honor is in recognition of his original contributions to the microbiological sciences and for excellence and creativity in his research program.


Login to Edit