Skip Navigation
Search

Undergraduate Program

There are many opportunities for undergraduates at SoMAS. We offer 9 degree programs and 8 minors. Over 600 undergraduates are now enrolled in SoMAS degree programs. Courses are offered both at the Stony Brook and Southampton campuses. At the Southampton campus, SoMAS offers a Semester by the Sea program in the fall and the spring for Stony Brook and visiting students, and a summer  Oceanography course that allows high school students and undergraduates to earn 3 college credits in 2 weeks.

Ranked Number 4 Best College in Marine Biology, according to College Magazine

In addition, SoMAS offers undergraduates the opportunity to study abroad. A winter session course in Tropical Marine Ecology is offered in Jamaica, and the Semester Abroad program at Stony Brook offers other opportunities for foreign study.

All students are encouraged to get practical experience by taking research or internship credits with SoMAS faculty or other professionals in the area at collaborating institutions.

Opportunities to get paid to do research in the summer are also available through faculty research grants and other competitive fellowship programs.

Many SoMAS undergraduate students participate in the Meteorology, Marine Sciences, or Environmental Studies Clubs.

To complete the undergraduate degree in atmospheric and ocean sciences (ATM), marine sciences (MAR), marine vertebrate biology (MVB) or environmental studies (ENS), a student must satisfy an upper division undergraduate writing and speaking requirement.


View a selection of videos of clubs and courses at SoMAS from the playlist below, including clips from students in our  ATMEHMENSEDP, MARMVB, and  SUS programs!


Additional Information

Make an Advising Appointment Using Navigate

For additional information on undergraduate programs, a student should contact:

Undergraduate Advisor
Nancy Black |   Nancy.Black@stonybrook.edu  | 631-632-9404

Director of   Undergraduate Programs
Darcy Lonsdale  |    Darcy.Lonsdale@stonybrook.edu  |  631-632-8712

Faculty Director for   Atmospheric Sciences
Brian Colle  |    Brian.Colle@stonybrook.edu  |  631-632-3174

Faculty Director for   Environmental Studies
Tara Rider |  Tara Rider  | 631-632-5307

Faculty Director for   Marine Vertebrate Biology
Joe Warren |  joe.warren@stonybrook.edu | 631-632-5045

Faculty Director for   Coastal Environmental Sciences
Kate Aubrecht |   katherine.aubrecht@stonybrook.edu  | 631-632-5360

Faculty Director for Marine Sciences
David Black |  david.black@stonybrook.edu | 631-632-8676

Faculty Director for   Ecosystems and Human Impact
Sharon Pochron |   sharon.pochron@stonybrook.edu

Faculty Director for   Environmental Design, Policy, and Planning
Donovan Finn |   donovan.finn@stonybrook.edu

Faculty Director for   Environmental Humanities
David Taylor |   david.j.taylor@stonybrook.edu

Faculty Director for   Sustainability Studies
Arlene Cassidy |   Arlene.Cassidy@stonybrook.edu  | 631-632-5362

Faculty Director for the   Semester by the Sea
Dr. Kurt Bretsch |   Kurt.Bretsch@stonybrook.edu  | 631-632-5156


Forms