Faculty

Eduardo Mendieta

Eduardo Mendieta
Department Chair

Professor 
Ph.D. 1996, The New School for Social Research
(631) 632-7585
Eduardo.Mendieta@stonybrook.edu 

 

Anne O' Byrne

Anne O' Byrne
Doctoral Program Director

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1999, Vanderbilt University 
(631) 632-7570
Anne.O'Byrne@stonybrook.edu

Megan Craig

Megan Craig
Masters Program Director

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 2007, The New School for
Social Research
(631) 632-7570
Megan.Craig@Stonybrook.edu 
 

Tim Hyde

Timothy Hyde
Undergraduate Program Director

Research Assistant Professor
Provost's Outstanding Lecturer
Ph.D. 2005, Stony Brook University
(631) 632-7570
Timothy.Hyde@stonybrook.edu

Edward Casey

Edward S. Casey

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1967, Northwestern University
(631) 632-7570
Edward.Casey@stonybrook.edu 

 

Harvey Cormier

Harvey Cormier

Associate Professor 
Ph.D. 1992, Harvard University 
(631) 632-7570
Harvey.Cormier@stonybrook.edu 

Robert Crease

Robert Crease

Professor
Ph.D. 1987, Columbia University 
(631) 632-7570
Robert.Crease@stonybrook.edu



 

David Dilworth

David Dilworth

Professor 
Ph.D. 1963, Fordham University
Ph.D. 1970, Columbia University
(631) 632-7570
dd9414@aol.com 

Jeff Edwards

Jeff Edwards

Associate Professor 
Ph.D. 1987, Universität Marburg,
Germany 
(631) 632-7570
Jeff.Edwards@stonybrook.edu 

 

Jeff Edwards

Patrick Grim

Distinguished Teaching Professor
Ph.D. 1976, Boston University
(631) 632-7570
Patrick.Grim@stonybrook.edu



Gabrielle Jackson

Gabrielle Jackson

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2011, Harvard Universitsy
(631) 632-7570
Gabrielle.Jackson@stonybrook.edu

 

Alan Kim

Alan Kim

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2001, McGill University
(631) 632-7570
Alan.Kim@stonybrook.edu

 

Eva Kittay

Eva Feder Kittay

Distinguished Professor
Ph.D. 1978, City University of New York
(631) 632-7570
Eva.Kittay@Stonybrook.edu 

 

Allegra de Laurentiis

Allegra de Laurentiis

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1982, Universität Frankfurt, Germany
(631) 632-7570
allegra.delaurentiis@stonybrook.edu 

Allegra de Laurentiis

Peter Manchester

Associate Professor
Ph.D. 1972, Graduate Theological
Union, Berkley, CA
(631) 632-7570
Peter.Manchester@stonybrook.edu

 

 

Gary Mar

Gary Mar

Associate Professor
PhD. 1985, University of California
at Los Angeles
(631) 632-7570
Gary.Mar@stonybrook.edu 



Clyde Lee Miller

Clyde Lee Miller

Professor, Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Personnel
Ph.D. 1974, Yale University 
(631) 632-7570
Clyde.Miller@stonybrook.edu 

 

Andrew Platt

Andrew Platt

Assistant Professor
Ph.D. 2010, University of Massachusetts, Amherst 
(631) 632-7570
Andrew.Platt@stonybrook.edu

 

Mary C. Rawlinson

Mary C. Rawlinson

Professor 
Joint Appointment with Comparative Literature
Ph.D. 1978, Northwestern University 
(631) 632-7570
Mary.Rawlinson@stonybrook.edu 

 

Lorenzo Simpson

Lorenzo Simpson

Professor 
Ph.D. 1978, Yale University
(631) 632-7570
Lorenzo.Simpson@stonybrook.edu 

Donn Welton

Donn Welton

Professor 
Ph.D. 1973, Southern Illinois University
(631) 632-7570
Donn.Welton@stonybrook.edu

 

 

 

 

Affiliated Faculty

Peter Carravetta

Peter Carravetta

Alfonse M. D'Amato Chair in Italian and Italian American Studies

 

William Chittick

William Chittick

Professor of Asian and Asian American Studies

Lisa Diedrich

Lisa Diedrich

Associate Professor of Women's and Gender Studies

 

Robert Harvey

Robert Harvey

Professor of Comparative Literature and Cultural Studies

Nicholson

 Andrew Nicholson

Associate Professor of Asian and Asian American Studies

   

 

Emeritus Faculty

David Allison

David Allison

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1974, Pennsylvania State University
 

Dick Howard

Dick Howard

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1970, University of Texas at Austin
www.dickhoward.com

Don Ihde

Don Ihde

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1964, Boston University
Don.Ihde@stonybrook.edu

 

Rita Nolan

Rita Nolan

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1965, University of Pennsylvania
Rita.Nolan@stonybrook.edu

 

Michael Simons

Michael Simon

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D. 1967, Harvard University
 

Marshall Spector

Marshall Spector

Professor Emeritus 
Ph.D. 1963, Johns Hopkins University 
Marshall.Spector@stonybrook.edu

 

Walter Watson

Walter Watson

Professor Emeritus  
Ph.D 1958, University of Chicago
watsonwalt@optonline.net

 

 Peter Williams

Peter Williams

Professor Emeritus
J.D., Ph.D., Harvard University

In Memoriam

Hugh Silverman

Hugh J. Silverman

Professor 
Joint Appointment with Comparative Literature
Ph.D., 1973, Stanford University 

 

 

 

Upcoming Events

Thinking the Plural: Richard Bernstein’s Contribution to American Philosophy
[PDF]

September 26th-27th

Fré Ilgen: Arts and Bodies

October 14th

Translating Jean-Luc Nancy: Invitations and Intrusions

October 15th

Don Ihde Distinguished Alumni Award

October 21st

Book Presentation

Edward S. Casey and Mary Watkins, Up Against the Wall: Re-Imagining the U.S.-Mexico Border
October 30th

Spaces of Control: Confronting Austerity and Repression

Eleventh Biennial Radical Philosophy Association Conference
November 6th-9th

"Envelopes of Flesh"

November 7th

"The Avowal of the Truth: Torture and Confession in the Witch-Hunt"

November 13th

“Affective Labor and Feminist Politics”

Johanna Oksala
November 18th

“Heidegger's Mask: Silence, Politics and 'World Jewry' in the Black Notebooks"

Adam Knowles
November 20th

“The Big Picture: Philosophy After the Apollo Missions”

Kelly Oliver
December 2nd

"Violence and Hyperbole: From the Death Penalty Seminar to the 'Cogito' Essay"

Michael Nass
December 11th

Department of Philosophy      Harriman Hall 213, Stony Brook, NY 11794     Phone: (631) 632-7570
Login to Edit