Skip Navigation
Search

Leadership

IGS Director

Sophie Raynard-Leroy,  Associate Professor
Humanities 1134
Phone: 631-632-7358
sophie.raynard@stonybrook.edu

Undergraduate Program Director

Andrea Fedi , Associate Professor 
Humanities 1055
Phone: 631-632-7013
andrea.fedi@stonybrook.edu

Fellow

Rosabel Ansari, Fellow
Humanities 1040
rosabel.ansari@stonybrook.edu

Faculty Advisory Board

Adrian Perez-Melgosa, Associate Professor 
adrian.perezmelgosa@stonybrook.edu

Daniel Levy, Professor
daniel.levy@stonybrook.edu

Liliana Davalos, Professor
liliana.davalos@stonybrook.edu

Shimelis Gulema, Associate Professor
shimelis.gulema@stonybrook.edu

Nancy Hiemstra, Associate Professor
nancy.hiemstra@stonybrook.edu

Eric Beverley, Associate Professor
eric.beverley@stonybrook.edu

Eric Zolov, Associate Professor
eric.zolov@stonybrook.edu

Jeffrey Santa Ana, Associate Professor
jeffrey.santa.ana@stonybrook.edu

Benjamin Tausig, AssociateProfessor
benjamin.tausig@stonybrook.edu

Sohl Lee, Assistant Professor
sohl.lee@stonybrook.edu

The Mission of the IGS

The Institute for Globalization Studies (IGS) promotes interdisciplinary perspectives on the challenges, opportunities, and contradictions related to the processes of globalization. Within the College of Arts and Sciences curriculum, the Institute offers a Bachelor of Arts in Globalization Studies and International Relations (a major and a minor) that combines the humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, and engineering to prepare future leaders in global policy-making, international service, diplomacy, and activism. Supported by a multidisciplinary advisory board, the IGS seeks to foster scholarly collaborations on the interactions between and within global to local scales, as well as the contradictions embedded in globalization, which often result in severe economic, political, and social inequalities among people marked by territorial borders. The IGS also pays attention to the effects that globalization processes have on the environment and how, in turn, ecological degradation is contributing to the proliferation of conflicts and the securitization of human rights.

Standing in Solidarity

As the world looks upon the United States with anxious yet hopeful eyes, it is incumbent upon us all to be cognizant of the weight of our speech and actions. We are simultaneously local, national, and global citizens. Our mission at the Institute for Globalization Studies is precisely to cultivate in our students, faculty, and communities at large knowledge of the contours and dimensions of power dynamics — socio-economic, political, cultural, and geopolitical.