Skip Navigation

Celebrating Our 2020-2021 Graduates!


Message from the Chair

On the occasion of the Spring 2021 Commencement, I extend heartfelt congratulations to all our graduates! We celebrate our Majors and Minors in Anthropology and our Majors in Human Evolutionary Biology, and their entire support team.

The faculty, staff, and I are proud of what you have accomplished. In the face of very difficult times, you prevailed with your commitment. We applaud your resilience. Now it is time to celebrate your accomplishments and you should enjoy just that. We wish you the best of luck in your future endeavors and we are very much looking forward to your future accomplishments. Stay safe and healthy.

Andreas Koenig
Chair of Anthropology

View a Recording of our Convocation Event

(convocation starts at 4:45)

Download the Program for our Convocation Event

Honors and Awards

Completing an Honors Thesis

Pauline Affatato
Cytoarchitecture of the entorhinal cortex in strepsirrhines: a study based on research primarily conducted in rats, macaques, and humans

Mehar Bharatiya
The functional morphology of the zygomatic arch in primates

Kennedy Thomas
Maximizing the efficacy of virtual dog-therapy sessions on promoting participant happiness: A study of human well-being during a global pandemic

Matthew Robertson
The Indiana Jones Effect: Differences in how popular novels portray archaeology

Outstanding Students

Pauline Affatato - Outstanding in Anthropology
Priya Aggarwal - Outstanding in Human Evolutionary Biology
Mehar Bharatiya - Outstanding in Human Evolutionary Biology
Dana DeSando - Outstanding Service to the Department of Anthropology
Matthew Robertson - Outstanding in Anthropology
Tayla Straub - Outstanding Service to the Department of Anthropology                                                 

Bachelor of Arts in Anthropology

Pauline Affatato*, Magna Cum Laude
Hanaa Ahmad
Kelsey Alber, Summa Cum Laude
Kelly Amador
Lauren Asfour
Nicholas Baball-Khan
Mehar Bharatiya*,  Summa Cum Laude
Dana Desando
Naomi Diller-Calhoun
Kara Drees
David Ewalt
Colen Guadalupe
Adam Kaye
Justin Ligasan
Brigitte Maczaj*, Summa Cum Laude
Clare Meaney, Magna Cum Laude
Reese Mercado
Karolina Mikolajczak
Matthew Robertson, Magna Cum Laude
Denis Shovelton
Megan Smith
Tayla Straub, Summa Cum Laude
Liam Tedford, Summa Cum Laude
Kennedy Thomas, Magna Cum Laude
Lisa VanSprundel
Keely Winter, Magna Cum Laude

*Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society   

Bachelor of Science in Human Evolutionary Biology

Pauline Affatato*, Magna Cum Laude
Priya Aggarwal, Summa Cum Laude
Mehar Bharatiya*,Summa Cum Laude
Brianna Cauthen
Daniel Flood
Adam Kaye
Jonathan Loi, Magna Cum Laude
Justine Marcinek*,Summa Cum Laude
Rubie Palma
Kennedy Thomas, Magna Cum Laude
Michaela Winkeler, Summa Cum Laude

*Phi Beta Kappa Honor Society   

Minor in Anthropology

Melissa Baldeo
Kimberly Dang
Gabriela Dominguez
Emma Malone
Brendan Maloney
Isabel Martins
Josh Mejia
Natalie Minghinelli
Aaradhana Natarajan
Danyah Naumani
Bridgette Nixon
Jeri Ann Ramilo
Erica Rankin
Imani Rattigan
Arrianna Rosendahl
Rabia Sheikh
Jason Steiner
Pui Ki Tsang
Weiye Yuan

Graduate Degrees

Ph.D. - Interdepartmental Doctoral Program in Anthropological Sciences

Deming Yang
Advisor: Frederick Grine
Dissertation Title: Investigating abiotic and biotic factors that influenced Pl
io-Pleistocene African suid evolution: implications for hominins