The International Association for Philosophy and Literature
Executive Director,  Hugh J. Silverman    


Graduate Study
Staff and Offices



Since its founding in 1976, the IAPL has held annual conferences, on an issue of special contemporary importance. Past IAPL meetings have taken place at the following locations (Conference coordinators are listed in parentheses):

  • Harvard Divinity School (1976): Images of the Human Being: Pessimism versus Optimism (Jean-Jacques Demorest)
  • University of Minnesota at Minneapolis (1977): Man, Nature, and the Work of Art (Leonard L. Duroche)
  • SUNY at Binghamton (1979): Interpretation and Method (M.C. Dillon)
  • University of Maine at Orono (1980): (Robert C. Carroll)
  • SUNY at Albany (1981): Representation (T.R. Martland)
  • Northwestern University (1982): Knowledge and the Limits of History (James M. Edie and Martha Woodmansee)
  • SUNY at Stony Brook (1983): Deconstruction and Its Alternatives (Hugh J. Silverman)
  • University of Iowa (1984): Philosophy as Literature/Literature as Philosophy (Donald G. Marshal)
  • City University of New York (1985): City, Thought, and Text (Mary Ann Caws and Peter Caws)
  • University of Washington (1986): Value (Charles Altieri)
  • University of Kansas (1987): Postmodernism: Texts, Politics, Instruction (Gary Shapiro)
  • University of Notre Dame (1988): Politics, Hermeneutics, Aesthetics (Gerald L. Bruns)
  • Emory University (1989): Dialectic and Narrative (Dalia Judovitz and Thomas R. Flynn)
  • University of California, Irvine (1990): Bodies, Image, Writing, Technology (Juliet F. MacCannell and Alexander Gelley)
  • Universite de Montreal, Quebec, Canada (1991): Change: Arts/Politics/Sciences (Christie McDonald)
  • Duquesne University (1993): Visibility and Expressivity (Wilhelm S. Wurzer)
  • University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada (1994): Thinking between Philosophy and Literature (Massimo Verdicchio and Robert Burch)
  • Villanova University (1995): Virtual Incorporations (John Carvalho)
  • George Mason University (1996): Dramas of Culture (Wayne J. Froman and John Burt Foster, Jr.)
  • University of South Alabama/Mobile (1997): Marginal Regions/Textual Margins (James Swearingen and Joanne Cutting-Gray)
  • University of California-Irvine/School of the Arts (1998): Interrogating Images (Stephen Barker)
  • Trinity College (1999): Postmodern Sites (Drew Hyland)
  • Istituto Italiano Per Gli Studi Filosofici (January, 2000):  IAPL in Naples (Massimo Verdicchi, Silvana Carotenuto, and Antonio Gargano)
  • SUNY/Stony Brook (2000):  Crossing Borders (Hugh Silverman and Michael Sanders)
  • Spelman College (2001):   Beginnings (Roy Martinez and Beverly Guy-Sheftal)

For More Information Contact:

Hugh J. Silverman, IAPL Executive Director

Department of Philosophy

SUNY -- Stony Brook

Stony Brook, NY 11794-3750 USA

Tel: 631-632-7592; 631-331-4598

FAX: 631-632-7522

Last modified:  March 04, 2002   
Website created by Michael Sanders
Contact  Hugh J. Silverman  with questions or comments about this web site.