Skip Navigation

Implementation Structure

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides overall support and oversight to the tobacco-free initiative and looks to ensure consistency across all areas. This group receives and reviews input from the Advisory Council and Working Groups.

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council is a broad group of students, faculty and staff which represents stakeholder groups from across campus. The council receives updates from Working Groups and provides them with feedback. The Council also gives their insight to the Steering Committee through the Council's co-chairs. Council members also help keep their respective groups informed and solicit feedback.

Working Groups

There are four Working Groups that are working towards implementing the tobacco-free policy in their respective areas. These groups are focused on students, employees, communications/marketing, and facilities.


Steering Committee Members:

Peter Baigent, Vice President for Student Affairs
Janice Barone, Assistant Provost for Human Resources
Ahmed Belazi, Director of Planning and Staff Development
Michael Bernstein, Provost and Senior Vice-President for Academic Affairs
Marisa Bisiani, Assistant Vice President for Student Health, Counseling and Outreach Services
Judy Greiman, Chief Deputy to the President
Tracy Haas, Director of Employee and Labor Relations
Lynn Johnson, Vice President of Human Resource Services
Robert Megna, Senior Vice President for Finance and Administration
Matthew Moore, Presidential Fellow
Mary Paciella, Director of Employee Health and Wellness
Nicholas Scibetta, Vice President for Communications and Marketing
Marrisa Trachtenberg, Assistant to the President for Policy, Compliance and Presidential Initiatives
Matthew Whelan, Vice President for Strategic Initiatives

Advisory Council Members:

Marrisa Trachtenberg, President's Office (Co-Chair)
Ahmed Belazi, Student Affairs (Co-Chair)
Steven Adelson, Graduate Student, Graduate Student Association
Thalia Anthony, Labor Relations
Drazen Bacarra, Executive Vice President, Undergraduate Student Government
Janice Barone, Provost's Office
Ashley Bernstein, Undergraduate Student, Residence Hall Association
Patricia Coleman, Human Resources
Lauren Donovan, College of Engineering and Applied Sciences
Jerica Jones, Quad Director, Mendelsohn Quad
Clifford Knee, Environmental Health and Safety
Catherine Marrone, Faculty
Stefanie Massucci, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Denise Muscarella, Long Island State Veterans Home
Mary Paciella, Director of Employee Health and Wellness
Patrick Payne, Undergraduate Student, Residence Hall Association
Christine Pitocco, University Senate
April Plank, Health Sciences Center
Lauren Sheprow, Media Relations
Paul Siegel, University Senate
Brian Smith, Communications
Charles Taber, Provost's Office
Bryan Weiss, Healthier U

Working Group Areas:

Student Affairs


Login to Edit