Skip Navigation
Search

Helplines and Hotlines

If you are in distress please seek immediate assistance by contacting the University Police at (631) 632-3333.  

LGBT National Help Center

 

The Trevor Project

 

1-866-488-7386  - Trevor Lifeline - The only national 24/7 crisis intervention and suicide prevention lifeline for LGBTQ young people (ages 13-24)

TrevorChat  -  A free, confidential, secure instant messaging service for LGBTQ youth that provides live help from trained volunteer counselors, open daily from 3:00pm - 10:00pm ET

TrevorText  -  A free, confidential, secure service in which LGBTQ young people can text a trained Trevor counselor for support and crisis intervention, available Monday through Fridays between 3:00pm - 10:00pm ET

Trevor Support Center  - Where LGBTQ youth and allies can find answers to FAQs and explore resources related to sexual orientation, gender identity and more.

 

 

 

 

 

Trans Lifeline

 

1-877-565-8860  - Trans Lifeline - A   grassroots hotline and microgrants organization offering direct emotional and financial support to trans people in crisis - for the trans community, by the trans community.

Trans Lifeline was founded in 2014 as a peer-support crisis hotline. The Hotline was, and still is, the only service in the country in which all operators are transgender. Because of the particularly vulnerable relationship transgender people have with police, it is also the only service in the country with a policy against non-consensual active rescue.

  The hotline is open 24/7! We have operators guaranteed to be on call during the following hours:

Pacific: 7:00am-1:00am
Mountain: 8:00am-2:00am
Central: 9:00am-3:00am
Eastern: 10:00am-4:00am
Alaska: 6:00am-12:00am
Hawaii: 5:00am-11:00pm

Operators are also frequently available during off-hours, so please call whenever you need to!