Skip Navigation

SPD Council

The SPD Council is a standing committee of the University Senate. It is advisory to the leader on all aspects of the School. The SPD Council is made up of both elected and appointed members representing the entire Stony Brook University community—including students, faculty and professional staff.




Dr. Malcolm Bowman

Distinguished Service Professor

School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences

Dr. Rebekah Burroway

Assistant Professor


Opoku "Spencer" Busia

Finance and Administration

School of Dental Medicine


Interim Executive Director, SPD

School of Professional Development

Matthew Colson

Executive Director

Alumni Relations


Graduate Student



Director, SPD Records and Admissions

European Languages, Literature, and Culture

Dr. Georges Fouron

Professor, Director of the International Studies Program

African Studies

Kim Giacalone

Director of Marketing and Communications

School of Professional Development

Dr. Gilbert N. Hanson

Distinguished Service Professor


Carolyn Jankowski

Assistant Dean, Human Services Programs

School of Professional Development

Shinu Kuriakose

Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education

Physician Assistant Education

Dr. Manuel London

Professor, Dean of the College of Business

College of Business

Dr. Harvard Lyman

Professor Emeritus, Co-Director of the Post-Bac Pre-Health Program


Amy Margolies

Acting Director, Career Development Programs

School of Professional Development

Dr. Craig Markson

Assistant Dean, Teachers Professional Development Institute / Acting Director, Educational Leadership Program

School of Professional Development

Chris Kretz

Head of Southampton Library

Stony Brook University Southampton Library

Dr. Clyde L. Miller



Kevin Moriarty

President, Stony Brook University Chapter/Lecturer

United University Professions/Technology and Society

Susan Ryan

Chair, Curriculum Committee

School of Professional Development

Dr. Jonathan Sokolov


Materials Science and Engineering

Dr. Arleen Steckel

Clinical Professor, Graduate Council Liaison

Graduate Council

Dr. Tian-Lih (Ted) Teng

Professor Technology Learning Center Society

Technology & Society

Theresa Tiso

Chair, SPD Council

College of Arts & Sciences

Linda Unger

Senior Instructional Designer

Faculty Center

Linda Varga, Recorder

Office Manager

School of Professional Development

Login to Edit