Skip Navigation

SPD Council

The SPD Council is a standing committee of the University Senate. It is advisory to the leader on all aspects of the School. The SPD Council is made up of both elected and appointed members representing the entire Stony Brook University community—including students, faculty and professional staff.



Name Position(s)
Lisa Berger Associate Professor, Mathematics
Malcom Bowman Distinguished Service Professor, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences
Rebekah Burroway Assistant Professor, Sociology
Matthew Colson Executive Director, Alumni Relations
Georges Fouron Director of the International Studies Program, African Studies
Gilbert N. Hanson Distinguished Service Professor, Geosciences
Carolyn Jankowski Assistant Dean, Human Services Programs & School of Professional Development
Chris Kretz Head of Southampton Library, Stony Brook University Southampton Library
Shinu Kuriakose Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Clinical Education, Physician Assistant Education
Manuel London Professor, Dean of the College of Business
Harvard Lyman Professor Emeritus, Co-Director of the Post-Bac Pre-Health Program, Biochemistry
Lori Lyons Director, SPD Records and Admissions
Patricia Malone Executive Director, School of Professional Development
Clyde L. Miller Professor, Philosophy
Kevin Moriarty Lecturer, Technology & Society and Stony Brook University Chapter, United University Professions
Susan Ryan Chair, Curriciulum Committee School of Professional Development
Jonathan Sokolov Professor, Materials Science and Engineering
Arleen Steckel Clinical Professor, Graduate Council Liaison
Tian-Lih (Ted) Teng Professor Technology Learning Center Society, Technology & Society
Linda Unger Senior Instructional Designer, Faculty Center
Linda Vargar-Recorder Office Manager, School of Professional Development