Skip Navigation

Success Stories

Below are just some (but not all!) of our Fellows Alumnae successes…



Julie Farkas (2013) has a two-book contract with Andrews McMeel Publishing. The first book, Be Brave: An Unlikely Manual for Erasing Heartbreak – an erasure of Beowolf – was published in early 2018.

Diane Jay (2014) “The Institutionalized Wrath Writes: Why I Write.” Temptations - Seven Deadly Sins (Lost Tower, 2016) “Perfect Day Begins” Confluence (The Journal of Graduate Liberal Studies, 2016)

Alexandra Siy (2015) Voyager's Greatest Hits: The Epic Trek To Interstellar Space, (Charlesbridge, 2017)

Erika Lewis (2015) novel Game of Shadows was published by TOR Forge in 2016. She is currently developing the Tierney Murphy Trials, a new series for the middle grade imprint Starscape at Macmillan. She has also authored The 49TH Key, an all ages graphic novel from Heavy Metal, and the on-going comic series Firebrand and Cursed from Legendary Entertainment.

Eugenie (Janie) Havemeyer (2016) will have two books published in July, 2018 through Norwood House Press called: Should Kids Wear School Uniforms? and Should Kids Get Allowance? New titles in Spring 2019 will be Chinese Immigrants: In Their Shoes and Infected! Also sold two poems to Highlights HELLO magazine.

Isabelle Marinov's (2017) has three picture books in various stages of publication. Scarlett & The Snail was published by Rockpool Children's Books. The Boy Whose Head Was Filled with Stars, a picture book biography about American astronomer Edwin Hubble, illustrated by Deborah Marcero, is being published by Enchanted Lion and Leo and the Octopus is being published by Innovation Press.



Janas Byrd (2013) Florida SCBWI Rising Kite Award - Honorable Mention

Julie Gribble (2013) 2017 Norton Juster Award for Devotion to Literacy from Reader to Reader for Kidlit TV.

Lauren LeBlanc (2015) SCBWI’s Work in Progress Award

Alexandra Siy (2015) 2018 NSTA BEST STEM Book Award, 2018 AAAS/ Subaru Science Books and Films Prize Finalist, 2018 Bank Street College Best Children's Books of the Year, Blue Ribbon Winner Bulletin of The Center for Children's Books, Chicago Public Library Best of the Best


Agent Representation

Julie Farkas (2013) Kerry Sparks at Levine, Greenberg, Rostan Literary Agency

Gali (Grace) Friedman (2014) Nancy Gallt from Gallt & Zacker

Jake Rideout (2014) Jennifer Laughran at Andrea Brown Literary Agency

Erika Lewis (2015) Sally Wofford-Girand at Union Literary

Alexandra Siy (2015) Susan Schulman Literary


Acceptances to other programs

Diane Jay (2014) pursuing doctorate at Southern Methodist University. Concentration: healing the mind through creativity.

Rebecca Randall (2016) accepted into VCFA MFA in Kidlit.

Elisa Zied (2016) accepted into VCFA MFA in Kidlit.

Jessica DeHart (2016) accepted to NYU’s Creative Writing MFA


Industry Positions

Julie Gribble (2013) founded KidLit TV, winner of the 2017 Norton Juster Award for Devotion to Literacy from Reader to Reader. Presenter at SCBWI, 21st Century Non-fiction, and TLA.

Jaime Mott (2013) interned at New Leaf Literary and Folio Literary. She is now Associate Children’s Librarian at the John Jermain Memorial Library in Sag Harbor.

Sarah Azzarra (2016) faculty at Stony Brook University

Stephanie Reese (2016) faculty at Stony Brook University


Login to Edit