Skip Navigation
Search

Shreya Sheth

Shreya Sheth

Undergraduate College/University:  Pandit Deendayal Petroleum University

Major (Minor):   Psychology (English Literature)

Graduation Year:  2018

 

Hi everyone! My name is Shreya and though I was born in Ohio, I have lived in India since I was 7 years old.

During my time as an undergraduate student, I was a research assistant for an international collaborative research project and a teaching assistant for my university's Psychology department. I interned for a while each at a drug rehabilitation centre and the local mental health hospital in Ahmedabad, India, dealing closely with patients of addiction, schizophrenia and mood disorders. Alongside this, I also worked on a few research papers, one being an analogical study on cognitive behavioral therapy and the ideologies of a classical Indian text. These experiences made me realise that I wanted to contribute to the treatment of mood disorders through psychological research.

I would ultimately like to pursue a PhD in Clinical Psychology to work as a research psychologist and study the scope of integrative treatments for mood disorders. I am interested in concepts derived from Eastern culture such as mindfulness, self-awareness and glad acceptance, and their potential to enhance modern clinical intervention. I would also like to work on designing effective translational research models which are specifically consistent with the kind of integrative treatment that combines several philosophies and techniques.

During my time in the MA program, I hope to expose myself to various aspects of the field and not only hone my research skills, but also refine my interests, and gain the experience needed to make me a good PhD candidate and researcher.

Before and since graduating, I have been a volunteer with Isha Foundation, a non-profit organization in Southern India aimed at promoting global well-being and harmony through various human service and outreach projects.

Outside of school, I enjoy reading, hiking, and spending time with my dog.

Login to Edit