Skip Navigation

Spring 2023 Seed Grant Award Winners

Below are the winners of the Spring 2023 Seed Grant Program competition. Faculty were asked to submit an abstract and brief proposal, including a timeline that demonstrated how this seed funding would help to develop a highly competitive proposal for extramural funding. Fourty-four applications were received from the College of Arts and Sciences, the College of Engineering and Applied Sciences, the School of Medicine,  the School of Communication and Journalism, the School of Dental Medicine, and the School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences. The following projects were selected for funding with an award start date of April 3, 2023. 

Josephine Aller and Michael G. Frisk, School of Marine and Atmospheric Sciences, and Gregory A. Henkes, Department of Geosciences: Reconstructing paleo-fisheries and the paleoenvironment of Lake Turkana, Kenya, to understand drivers of ecosystem change and fisheries resilience

Olga Aroniadis, Department of Medicine, Ramin Parsey, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health and Department of Radiology, and Christine DeLorenzo, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Health and Department of Biomedical Engineering: Pilot feasibility study probing the role of the microbiome as a mechanism of mediating signaling along the gut-brain axis in major depressive disorder

Himanshu Gupta, Department of Computer Science, Prateek Prasanna, Department of Biomedical Informatics, and Aaron Sasson, Department of Surgery: Computational Methods to Minimize Bile-Duct Injuries in Laparoscopic Cholecystectomy

Marc Halterman, Department of Neurology, and Dima Kozakov, Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics: NeuroTag: GFP-tagging the ER-stress proteome to address bottlenecks in stroke therapeutics discovery

Jacob Houghton, Department of Radiology: Development and dosimetry of Pb-203/212 host:guest pretargeting

Hwan Kim, Jorge Benach, and Ilia Rochlin, Department of Microbiology and Immunology: Characterize the ability of H. longicornis to acquire and transmit R. amblyommatis

Jeffrey Lipshultz and Robert B. (Barney) Grubbs, Department of Chemistry: Upgrading of Simple and Macromolecular Alcohols via Catalytic Alkoxyl Radical β-Scission

Sima Mofakham, Department of Neurosurgery and Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Charles Mikell, Department of Neurosurgery, and Petar Djuric, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering: A Real-Time, Objective Measure of Consciousness

Robert Scott Powers, Kenneth Shroyer, and Natalia Marchenko, Department of Pathology, and Thomas MacCarthy, Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics: Integrating single-cell and spatial genomics with computational  modeling to elucidate the K17-GATA6 genetic regulatory network in pancreatic cancer

Clinton Rubin, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Addolorate (Dada) Pisconti, Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology, and Holly Colognato and Styliani-Anna (Stella) E. Tsirka, Department of Pharmacological Sciences: Low Intensity Vibration Mitigates Muscle/Bone/Brain Failure in a Mouse Model of Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy

Jun Wang, Department of Biomedical Engineering, and Sandeep Mallipattu, Department of Medicine: Advanced Single-Cell Proteomic Study of Kidney Diseases

Tzu-Chieh Wei,  C.N. Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics and Department of Physics and Astronomy, and Xianfeng (David) Gu, Department of Computer Science and Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics: Quantum Algorithms for Conformal Geometry with Speedup for Medical Imaging Processing and Other Applications

Stanislaus Wong and Iwao Ojima, Department of Chemistry, and Dima Kozakov, Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics: Development of Nanoscale Metal Oxide Platforms for Theranostics