Skip Navigation

Department Honors and Awards

Pi Sigma Lambda, Eta Theta Chapter Inductees Alumni Pre-Law Scholarship
Martin B. Travis Political Science Award Patricia E. Herman Memorial Award
Robert Clasen Scholarship Scott D. Middleton Scholarship
Commencement Navigation

Pi Sigma Lambda, Eta Theta Chapter Inductees

Pi Sigma Alpha was organized by Phi Beta Kappa and Sigma XI in 1920. The Society fills an important need in the advancement and diffusion of knowledge and interest in Political Science among students in collegiate institutions. There are over 420 Chapters of the Society located in the leading institutions of higher education throughout the country. Student membership in the Society is conferred on no basis of  selection other than that of scholastic achievement.

Digby Baker-Porazinski


Jeanette Blanchette


Cassidy Bonitch


Scholarship and Award Recipients

Alumni Pre-Law Scholarship

The Alumni Pre-Law Scholarship was established to support undergraduates who have an interest in becoming a lawyer. The scholarship is intended for students who have demonstrated active participation in the pre-law club, have taken law-related courses, and/or had previous work experience in the legal industry.


Angelina Pagano


Rebecca Oestreicher


Andrew Bearkland


Nouhaila Saboula

Martin B. Travis
Political Science Award

This award is made annually to a student completing a major in political science who plans to attend law school. The award honors Professor Emeritus Martin B. Travis.

Patricia E. Herman
Memorial Award

This award is presented annually in memory of Patricia E. Herman to a junior or senior majoring in political science who has an interest in urban planning and/or environmental issues.


Hana Kim


Declan Graham


Naisha Chowdhury

Robert Clasen Scholarship

This scholarship was established by Robert Clasen, a practicing attorney who graduated from Stony Brook University in 1980 with a BA in Political Science. Mr. Clasen generously established the fund in appreciation of the education he received at Stony Brook and to provide scholarship support for deserving students with financial need.

Scott D. Middleton Scholarship

This scholarship was created to support undergraduate Political Science majors with an academic focus on governemental studies. This scholarship was started by the Honorable Scott D. Middleton, who earned his BA in Political Science at Stony Brook in 1984 and his Juris Doctor from Brookleny Law School in 1988.

Prior to serving as Village Justice of the Village of Lake Grove, Judge Middleton served as Mayor from 2001 until 2006 and Trustee from 1995 until 2001. As a Trustee, he served as Depudy Mayor and was also appointed Commissioner of Recreation, Commissioner of Public Works, Director Personnel, and Commissioner of Parks.


Emily Carll