Skip Navigation


The Stony Brook Alumni Association seeks to reach, serve and engage all Stony Brook Alumni, students and other constituencies to foster a lifelong intellectual and emotional connection between the University and its graduates, and to provide the University with goodwill and support. Visit the Alumni website at

The Department of Political Science proudly recognizes its Distinguished Alumni Award winners. Please send your nominations for the Political Science Distinguished Alumni Award to Dr. Matthew Lebo , department chair.


1996- Present

2015: Latoya Joyner, New York State Assemblywoman

2014: Barry Devolin, Member of the Canadian House of Commons

2013: Lynda Nicolino, Bethpage Federal Credit Union, Corporate General Counsel

2012: John T. (JT) Mastranadi, Political Director for Citizens United.

2011: Aylin Karamehmetoglu, Chief of Staff, Cordoba Initiative

2010: Ron Nehring, Chair, California Republican Party

2009: R. Stephanie Good, Attorney at Law & Bestselling Author

2008: Kabando-wa-Kabando, Member of the National Assembly, Kenya

2007: Scott Middleton, Mayor and Justice, Lake Grove, NY

2006: Jonathan Salant, President, National Press Club

2005: Marlene Budd, Suffolk County Family Court Judge

2004: Kevin Law, President, Long Island Power Authority

2003: Steve Levy, Suffolk County Executive

2002: Colleen Murphy Ommundsen, NYC Police Officer and 9-11 Responder

2001: Osita Iroku, Businessman; Chair, Delta Acquisitions Group

2000: James F. Gesualdi, Attorney at Law

1999: Gerald Rokoff, Partner, White & Case

1998: Michael Manoussos, Founder, Manoussos & Associates; Chairman and CEO, Manhole Barrier Security Systems, Inc.

1997: David Rokoff, Attorney and Entrepreneur

1996: Sheldon Cohen, Senior Managing Director, CB Richard Ellis

Prior to 1995

Hamad A. Al-Kawari, Information and Cultural Minister, Qatar

Denise Coleman, Author; Founder, Chronic Pain Awareness Project

Robert Gallucci, Ambassador, Assistant Secretary of State, United Nations Weapons Inspector; Dean, Georgetown School of Foreign Service; President of the John D. and Catherine T. Mac Arthur Foundation

Richard Gelfond, Co-Chairman and Co-Ceo, Imax Corporation; Chair, Stony Brook Foundation

Babak Movahedi, Real-estate developer

Len Spivak, Partner, Cahill Gordon & Reindell

Carole Weidman Nussbaum, Founder, Weidman & Siegel Baum; President, Cabrillo Music Theater


Please send your nominations for the Political Science Distinguished Alumni Award to Department Chair,   Dr. Matthew Lebo.


Thank you for visiting!

The generous support of our alumni and friends has contributed to our ability to attract outstanding students. Your support has allowed the Department to offer special scholarships to students, as well as to upgrade classroom multimedia, and enhance other Departmental activities. These resources strengthen the educational experience we are able to provide to our students.

Your generosity, whether it's the renewal of your support or the decision to give for the first time, allows us to do what we do best – innovative, creative research and teaching. We’re most grateful for your contributions.  


Matthew Lebo

Professor and Chair

Please support the Department of Political Science

Let’s stay connected!

Stay in touch with us to learn about Department of Political Science events, networking opportunities and more. If you are not registered as a Political Science alumnus and want to receive occasional emails and news updates, click here .

Login to Edit